Read More

The Best Gun Belt

  • Mark Woodward
  • Reviews
  • January 8, 2021
Read More

Slide #2

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #3

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #4

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.

WISCONSIN GUN LAWS

The Latest Guide

Get the latest facts on Wisconsin gun laws with this quick guide.
Everything you need to know is on this page.
Keep reading…

Wisconsin gun laws operate at the state level with concealed weapons licenses being issued by the Department of Justice. Licenses are only issued to residents of the state with no options for a non-resident to obtain a license. There are no firearm registration requirements or laws limiting the capacity of magazines or any requirement for background checks on private gun sales. In Wisconsin open carry is legal for any person that is 18 years or older and not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state and federal laws.

Wisconsin CCW Quick Facts

TOTAL ACTIVE CCW
0
LICENSES IN WISCONSIN
Gun Laws
STATE RATING
Average
STATES THAT HONOR
0
A WISCONSIN LICENSE
STATE PERMITS
0
WISCONSIN HONORS
STATES NOT
0
HONORING LICENSE

Illinois Reciprocity Map

Created with Raphaël 2.0.1ALAK AZ ARCACOCTDEDCFLGAHIIDILINIAKSKYLAMEMDMAMIMNMSMOMTNENVNHNJNMNYNCNDOHOKORPARISCSDTNTXUTVTVAWAWVWIWY
Permit Honored
Permit not honored
Residential permits only
Issuing state

How Reciprocity Works in Wisconsin

Wisconsin will honor all non-resident permits from the states they honor provided the holder of the permit is at least 21 years old. More information on reciprocity can be found at the state website.

Wisconsin Reciprocity State’s

Illinois Reciprocity List

29
STATES

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wyoming

42
STATES

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

20
STATES

California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Washington.

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia

  • Virginia – Wisconsin will not honor the Virginia Resident Permit/License only their Non Resident Permit/License.
  • Missouri – Only licenses issued/renewed on or after 8/28/13 are honored in Wisconsin.
  • Ohio – Only Permits Issued/renewed on or after March 23, 2015 are honored in Wisconsin.
  • Massachusetts – Only Honors the Class A Massachusetts Permit.
  • South Dakota – Wisconsin Only Honors the Enhanced and Gold Licenses.

Wisconsin Pistol License

Wisconsin Issue Policy

Shall Issue

License Issued To

Residents, Non-residents

CCW LICENSE OVERVIEW

Permits are issued to residents only, who are 21 or older, have completed a firearms training course, and meet other criteria. Applications are processed at the state level by the Wisconsin Department of Justice and can be filed online or by mail.

An emergency license is available and is valid for 30 days. To obtain one you will need to obtain permission from a Court in the county you reside in and prove that you need a firearm to protect yourself from death or bodily harm.

NON-RESIDENT LICENSES


Non-resident licenses are only issued to military personnel if they are stationed in Wisconsin.

The Law
175.60(1)(dm) and 175.60(14)(c)

HANDGUN TRAINING

If you are planning on getting a CCL then you will be required to provide proof that you have completed a firearms safety training course. The course is a 4-6 hour class with no shooting involved. After completing the course you will be given a certificate which can be submitted online. Training is only required if you want to obtain a CCL license, no license is required to openly carry.

The following documents will be accepted as proof of training;

  • The hunter education program or a similar program from another state.
  • A current or expired CCW license from another state with form DJ-LE-289 to verify it has not been revoked.
  • Proof of security, military or law enforcement training.
  • Certificate issued for the Department of Justice Firearm Safety Course.
  • Certificate from a firearms course taught by a state or national organization that certifies firearms instructors or a course offered to the public by a law enforcement agency.

COST OF

$ 0
CWW PERMIT

YEARS PERMIT

0
IS VALID

Wisconsin CWL Forms

Download Your Forms

Wisconsin: Places Off-Limits for CWL

Wisconsin state flag

Places Off-Limits in Wisconsin

  • Building that is a police station, sheriff’s office, state patrol station.
  • Prison, jail, house of correction, or secured correctional facility.
  • Secure mental health facility for sexually violent Persons.
  • Wisconsin Resource Center.
  • Secured unit of a mental health institute, including a facility designated as the Maximum Security Facility at Mendota Mental Health Institute.
  • County, state, or federal courthouse.
  • Municipal courtroom if court is in session.
  • Beyond a security checkpoint in an airport.
  • School grounds or within 1000 feet of a school. This applies to elementary school, middle school, junior high school, senior high school, or high school- public or private. You can be within 1000ft of a school if you have a CCW license.
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

Places Allowed in Wisconsin

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed as off limits

The Illinois Supreme Court ruled in February 2018 that the ban on carry near a public park is unconstitutional.

430 ILCS 66/65 – Off limits

Pointers: Wisconsin Gun Laws

Wisconsin Concealed Carry Laws

Wisconsin state capitol building

Wisconsin Gun Laws To Know

YES/NO – WITHOUT A PERMIT

The Wisconsin Supreme Court on 4/10/18 ruled that a person must have a permit that is valid in Wisconsin to carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle. If you do not have a permit you can still carry a handgun in a vehicle if it is visible. That means above the window line and not concealed in any manner.

The Law
167.31
948.605

NO – MUST INFORM OFFICER

Nothing in Wisconsin gun laws say that you need to disclose to a police officer that you are carrying a concealed weapon. However, if the officer requests documentation then the law says you must show him your license and photo ID.

“A licensee shall have with him or her, during all times he or she is carrying a concealed weapon, his or her license document, photographic identification card, and, if the licensee is a military resident, his or her military license.”

YES

Open carry is legal without a license if you are at least 18 years old and allowed to possess a firearm.

YES

Wisconsin gun laws give the force of law to “No Weapons” signs. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. To be legally enforceable the signs must be 5″x 7″ and clearly state the type of gun and carry that is prohibited.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

The Law
943.13

YES

You are permitted to carry in the following areas;

  • State Parks:       YES – DNR FAQs for firearms and 29.089
  • State/National Forests:     YES – DNR FAQs for firearms
  • State Wildlife Management Areas:     YES – DNR FAQs for firearms and 29.091
  • Road Side Rest Areas:     YES
YES

In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol

“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. In Wisconsin any person can legally carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol, even if there is a bar in the restaurant.

If you enter an establishment that makes more than 51% of its income from selling alcohol such as a bar or tavern you are required to have a CCL license. However, if you have a CCL then you are not permitted to drink in these establishments.

NO

Wisconsin is not regarded as a constitutional carry state however it does have permitless carry if the weapon is carried openly.

“The people have the right to keep and bear arms for security, defense, hunting, recreation or any other lawful purpose” (Art. I, 25)

Wisconsin Off-Limit Statutes

(a) Except as provided in par. (b), neither a licensee nor an out−of−state licensee may knowingly carry a concealed weapon, a weapon that is not concealed, or a firearm that is not a weapon in any of the following places:

  1. Any portion of a building that is a police station, sheriff’s office, state patrol station, or the office of a division of criminal investigation special agent of the department.
  2. Any portion of a building that is a prison, jail, house of correction, or secured correctional facility.
  3. The facility established under s. 46.055. (Secure mental health facility for sexually violent Persons)
  4. The center established under s. 46.056. (Wisconsin Resource Center)
  5. Any secured unit or secured portion of a mental health institute under s. 51.05, including a facility designated as the Maximum Security Facility at Mendota Mental Health Institute.
  6. Any portion of a building that is a county, state, or federal courthouse.
  7. Any portion of a building that is a municipal courtroom if court is in session.
  8. A place beyond a security checkpoint in an airport.

(b) The prohibitions under par. (a) do not apply to any of the following:

  1. A weapon in a vehicle driven or parked in a parking facility located in a building that is used as, or any portion of which is used as, a location under par. (a).
  2. A weapon in a courthouse or courtroom if a judge who is a licensee is carrying the weapon or if another licensee or out−of−state licensee, whom a judge has permitted in writing to carry a weapon, is carrying the weapon.
  3. A weapon in a courthouse or courtroom if a district attorney, or an assistant district attorney, who is a licensee is carrying the weapon.

(17) Penalties. (a) Any person who violates sub. (2g) (b) or (c) may be required to forfeit not more than $25, except that the person shall be exempted from the forfeiture if the person presents, within 48 hours, his or her license document or out−of−state license and photographic identification to the law enforcement agency that employs the requesting law enforcement officer.

  • (ac) Except as provided in sub. (11) (b) 2., any person who violates sub. (11) (b) 1. may be required to forfeit $50.
  • (ag) Any person who violates sub. (2m) (e), (12), or (12g) may be fined not more than $500 or sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days or both.

(a) Any individual who knowingly possesses a firearm at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is in or on the grounds of a school is guilty of a Class I felony. Any individual who knowingly possesses a firearm at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is within 1,000 feet of the grounds of a school is subject to a Class B forfeiture.

(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to the possession of a firearm by any of the following:

1r. Except if the person is in or on the grounds of a school, a licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (d), or an out-of-state licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (g).

3. A person possessing a gun that is not loaded and is any of the following:

  • a. Encased.
  • b. In a locked firearms rack that is on a motor vehicle.
 

Dangerous Weapons Other Than Firearms on School Premises

(1)(b) “School” is defined as “a public school, parochial or private school, or tribal school, as defined in s. 115.001(15m), which provides an educational program for one or more grades between grades 1 and 12 and which is commonly known as an elementary school, middle school, junior high school, senior high school, or high school.”

(1m) (c)

 

1. While carrying a firearm, enters or remains at a residence that the actor does not own or occupy after the owner of the residence, if he or she has not leased it to another person, or the occupant of the residence has notified the actor not to enter or remain at the residence while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. In this subdivision, “residence,” with respect to a single-family residence, includes the residence building and the parcel of land upon which the residence building is located, and “residence,” with respect to a residence that is not a single-family residence, does not include any common area of the building in which the residence is located or any common areas of the rest of the parcel of land upon which the residence building is located.

1m. While carrying a firearm, enters or remains in a common area in a building, or on the grounds of a building, that is a residence that is not a single-family residence if the actor does not own the residence or does not occupy any part of the residence, if the owner of the residence has notified the actor not to enter or remain in the common area or on the grounds while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply to a part of the grounds of the building if that part is used for parking and the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in that part.

2. While carrying a firearm, enters or remains in any part of a nonresidential building, grounds of a nonresidential building, or land that the actor does not own or occupy after the owner of the building, grounds, or land, if that part of the building, grounds, or land has not been leased to another person, or the occupant of that part of the building, grounds, or land has notified the actor not to enter or remain in that part of the building, grounds, or land while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply to a part of a building, grounds, or land occupied by the state or by a local governmental unit, to a privately or publicly owned building on the grounds of a university or college, or to the grounds of or land owned or occupied by a university or college, or, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of a building, grounds, or land used as a parking facility.

3. While carrying a firearm, enters or remains at a special event if the organizers of the special event have notified the actor not to enter or remain at the special event while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of the special event grounds or building used as a parking facility.

4. While carrying a firearm, enters or remains in any part of a building that is owned, occupied, or controlled by the state or any local governmental unit, excluding any building or portion of a building under s. 175.60 (16) (a), if the state or local governmental unit has notified the actor not to enter or remain in the building while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply to a person who leases residential or business premises in the building or, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of the building used as a parking facility.

5. While carrying a firearm, enters or remains in any privately or publicly owned building on the grounds of a university or college, if the university or college has notified the actor not to enter or remain in the building while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply to a person who leases residential or business premises in the building or, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of the building used as a parking facility.

Other Wisconsin Statutes

License to carry a concealed weapon.

(1) Definitions. In this section:

  • (d) “Licensee” means an individual holding a valid license to carry a concealed weapon issued under this section.
  • (j) “Weapon” means a handgun, an electric weapon, as defined in s. 941.295 (1c) (a), a knife other than a switchblade knife under s. 941.24, or a billy club.

(2) (bm) 1. In this paragraph, “sign” means a sign that states a restriction imposed under subd. 2. That is at least 5 inches by 7 inches.

2. a. For the purposes of sub. (1m) (c) 1m., an owner of a residence that is not a single-family residence has notified an individual not to enter or remain in a part of that building, or on the grounds of that building, while carrying a firearm or with a particular type of firearm if the owner has posted a sign that is located in a prominent place near all of the entrances to the part of the building to which the restriction applies or near all probable access points to the grounds to which the restriction applies and any individual entering the building or the grounds can be reasonably expected to see the sign.

am. For the purposes of sub. (1m) (c) 2., 4., and 5., an owner or occupant of a part of a nonresidential building, the state or a local governmental unit, or a university or a college has notified an individual not to enter or remain in a part of the building while carrying a firearm or with a particular type of firearm if the owner, occupant, state, local governmental unit, university, or college has posted a sign that is located in a prominent place near all of the entrances to the part of the building to which the restriction applies and any individual entering the building can be reasonably expected to see the sign.

b. For the purposes of sub. (1m) (c) 2., an owner or occupant of the grounds of a nonresidential building or of land has notified an individual not to enter or remain on the grounds or land while carrying a firearm or with a particular type of firearm if the owner or occupant has posted a sign that is located in a prominent place near all probable access points to the grounds or land to which the restriction applies and any individual entering the grounds or land can be reasonably expected to see the sign.

c. For the purposes of sub. (1m) (c) 3., the organizers of the special event have notified an individual not to enter or remain at the special event while carrying a firearm or with a particular type of firearm if the organizers have posted a sign that is located in a prominent place near all of the entrances to the special event and any individual attending the special event can be reasonably expected to see the sign.

 

(2g)

(b) 1. Unless the licensee is carrying a concealed weapon in a manner described under s. 941.23 (2) (e), a licensee shall have with him or her, during all times he or she is carrying a concealed weapon, his or her license document, photographic identification card, and, if the licensee is a military resident, his or her military license.

2. Unless the out−of−state licensee is carrying a concealed weapon in a manner described under s. 941.23 (2) (e), an out−of−state licensee shall have with him or her his or her out−of−state license and photographic identification card at all times during which he or she is carrying a concealed weapon.

(c) Unless the licensee or out−of−state licensee is carrying a concealed weapon in a manner described under s. 941.23 (2) (e), upon request by a law enforcement officer who is acting in an official capacity and with lawful authority, a licensee who is carrying a concealed weapon shall display to the officer his or her license document and, photographic identification card, and, if the licensee is a military resident, his or her military license, and an out−of−state licensee who is carrying a concealed weapon shall display to the officer his or her out−of−state license and photographic identification card.

(2) Prohibitions; motorboats and vehicles; highways and roadways.

(a) Except as provided in sub. (4), no person may place, possess, or transport a firearm, bow, or crossbow in or on a motorboat with the motor running, unless one of the following applies:

  1. The firearm is unloaded or is a handgun.
  2. The bow does not have an arrow nocked.
  3. The crossbow is not cocked or is unloaded and enclosed in a carrying case.

(b) Except as provided in sub. (4), no person may place, possess, or transport a firearm, bow, or crossbow in or on a vehicle, unless one of the following applies:

  1. The firearm is unloaded or is a handgun.
  2. The bow does not have an arrow nocked.
  3. The crossbow is not cocked or is unloaded and enclosed in a carrying case.

(c) Except as provided in sub. (4), no person may load a firearm, other than a handgun, in a vehicle or discharge a firearm or shoot a bolt or an arrow from a bow or crossbow in or from a vehicle.

(2) (a) Any individual who knowingly possesses a firearm at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is a school zone in or on the grounds of a school is guilty of a Class I felony. Any individual who knowingly possesses a firearm at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is within 1,000 feet of the grounds of a school is subject to a Class B forfeiture.

(2) (b) (intro.) Paragraph (a) does not apply to the possession of a firearm by any of the following:

(2) (b) 1m. A person who possesses the firearm in accordance with 18 USC 922 (q) (2) (B) (i), (iv), (v), (vi), or (vii).

175.60 (1) (dm) “Military resident” means an individual who is in active service in the U.S. armed forces and is stationed in this state for a term that is scheduled to be at least one year in duration.

A military resident who holds a license shall surrender the license at the time he or she ceases to be stationed in this state.

(1) In this section:

  • (a) “Firearm” has the meaning given in s. 167.31 (1) (c).
  • (b) “Political subdivision” means a city, village, town or county.
  • (c) “Sport shooting range” means an area designed and operated for the practice of weapons used in hunting, skeet shooting and similar sport shooting.

(2) Except as provided in subs. (3) and (4), no political subdivision may enact or enforce an ordinance or adopt a resolution that regulates the sale, purchase, purchase delay, transfer, ownership, use, keeping, possession, bearing, transportation, licensing, permitting, registration, or taxation of any knife or any firearm or part of a firearm, including ammunition and reloader components, unless the ordinance or resolution is the same as or similar to, and no more stringent than, a state statute.

(3)

  • (a) Nothing in this section prohibits a county from imposing a sales tax or use tax under subch. V of ch. 77 on any knife or any firearm or part of a firearm, including ammunition and reloader components, sold in the county.
  • (b) Nothing in this section prohibits a city, village or town that is authorized to exercise village powers under s. 60.22 (3) from enacting an ordinance or adopting a resolution that restricts the discharge of a firearm. Any ordinance or resolution that restricts the discharge of a firearm does not apply and may not be enforced if the actor’s conduct is justified or, had it been subject to a criminal penalty, would have been subject to a defense described in s. 939.45.

(4) (a) Nothing in this section prohibits a political subdivision from continuing to enforce an ordinance or resolution that is in effect on November 18, 1995, and that regulates the sale, purchase, transfer, ownership, use, keeping, possession, bearing, transportation, licensing, permitting, registration or taxation of any firearm or part of a firearm, including ammunition and reloader components, if the ordinance or resolution is the same as or similar to, and no more stringent than, a state statute.

  • (am) Nothing in this section prohibits a political subdivision from continuing to enforce until November 30, 1998, an ordinance or resolution that is in effect on November 18, 1995, and that requires a waiting period of not more than 7 days for the purchase of a handgun.
  • (b) If a political subdivision has in effect on November 17, 1995, an ordinance or resolution that regulates the sale, purchase, transfer, ownership, use, keeping, possession, bearing, transportation, licensing, permitting, registration or taxation of any firearm or part of a firearm, including ammunition and reloader components, and the ordinance or resolution is not the same as or similar to a state statute, the ordinance or resolution shall have no legal effect and the political subdivision may not enforce the ordinance or resolution on or after November 18, 1995.
  • (c) Nothing in this section prohibits a political subdivision from enacting and enforcing a zoning ordinance that regulates the new construction of a sport shooting range or when the expansion of an existing sport shooting range would impact public health and safety.

(5) A county ordinance that is enacted or a county resolution that is adopted by a county under sub. (2) or a county ordinance or resolution that remains in effect under sub. (4) (a) or (am) applies only in those towns in the county that have not enacted an ordinance or adopted a resolution under sub. (2) or that continue to enforce an ordinance or resolution under sub. (4) (a) or (am), except that this subsection does not apply to a sales or use tax that is imposed under subch. V of ch. 77.

(6) Unless other facts and circumstances that indicate a criminal or malicious intent on the part of the person apply, no person may be in violation of, or be charged with a violation of, an ordinance of a political subdivision relating to disorderly conduct or other inappropriate behavior for loading a firearm, or for carrying or going armed with a firearm or a knife, without regard to whether the firearm is loaded or the firearm or the knife is concealed or openly carried. Any ordinance in violation of this subsection does not apply and may not be enforced

(g) “Unloaded” means any of the following:

  1. Having no shell or cartridge in the chamber of a firearm or in the magazine attached to a firearm.
  2. In the case of a cap lock muzzle−loading firearm, having the cap removed.
  3. In the case of a flint lock muzzle−loading firearm, having the flashpan cleaned of powder.

Governor; Duties and Powers.

(1) ONGOING DUTIES. The governor shall do all of the following:

  • (a) Review orders establishing or altering emergency management areas.
  • (b) Review state emergency management plans and modifications to the plans.
  • (c) Determine responsibilities of state departments and independent agencies with respect to emergency management and by order direct those departments and agencies in utilizing personnel, facilities, supplies, and equipment before and during a state of emergency.

(2) ONGOING POWERS. The governor may do all of the following:

  • (a) On behalf of the state, enter into mutual aid agreements concerning emergency management with other states.
  • (b) Accept from any source gifts and grants including services for emergency management purposes and may authorize the state and local units of government to receive such gifts and grants. When grants require participation by a local unit of government, the state may transfer title to equipment acquired through an agreement between participating local units of government.
  • (c) If the governor determines that a condition of civil disorder or a threat to the safety of persons on state property or damage or destruction to state property exists, he or she may, without declaring an emergency, call out the state traffic patrol or the conservation warden service or members of that patrol or service for use in connection with the threat to life or property.

(3) DUTIES DURING AN EMERGENCY. During a state of emergency declared under s. 323.10, the governor shall issue orders, delegate such authority as is necessary to the administrator, and direct the division to coordinate emergency management activities.

(4) POWERS DURING AN EMERGENCY. The governor may do all of the following during a state of emergency declared under s. 323.10:

  • (a) Declare priority of emergency management contracts over other contracts, allocate materials and facilities in his or her discretion, and take, use, and destroy, in the name of the state, private property for emergency management purposes. The governor shall keep records of that action. Those records shall be evidence of a claim against the state. The claim against the state shall be referred to the claims board under s. 16.007.
  • (b) Issue such orders as he or she deems necessary for the security of persons and property.
  • (c) Contract on behalf of the state with any person to provide, on a cost basis, equipment and services to be used to respond to a disaster or the imminent threat of a disaster.
  • (d) Suspend the provisions of any administrative rule if the strict compliance with that rule would prevent, hinder, or delay necessary actions to respond to the disaster

Prohibition against restricting firearms or ammunition during emergency. A person who is granted emergency powers under this subchapter may not use those powers to restrict the lawful possession, transfer, sale, transport, storage, display, or use of firearms or ammunition during an emergency.

For information on other states handgun laws please go back to the state laws page and select the state you are interested in.

Other Gun Laws in Wisconsin

Wisconsin CCW FAQ's

21 Days
They have 21 days from when they receive your application to process it. The 21 days also applies to renewals.

Wis. Stat. § 175.60(9)(b).

You will need to file a replacement form with a $12 fee. A replacement license must be issued within 14 days of the Department receiving your application.

Concealed Weapons licenses are valid for 5 years unless revoked.

Wis. Stat. § 175.60(15)(a).

No, online courses are not accepted.

You must notify the Department of Justice within 30 days that you have move to a new address.

Wis. Stat. §175.60(11)(b)1.

You will need to notify the DOJ within 30 days and file a change of name form with a $22 fee.

A CWL licence allows a person to carry a handgun, electric weapon and billy club.

Yes, a person is required to carry the license whenever they are carrying a concealed weapon . They must also carry photographic ID.

Wisconsin CWL Contact

Wisconsin Department of Justice

Hours


Monday – Friday    9am – 5pm

Saturday                  Closed

Sunday                    Closed

Contact


Address     17 W. Main St.

City             Madison, WI 53703

Phone        (608) 266-1221