UTAH GUN LAWS
UTAH GUN LAWS
Persons aged between 18 – 21 can obtain a provisional permit. Apart from the age, the requirements are the same as those for a standard permit. These permits are also issued to non-residents. However, there are a number of states that will not honor the provisional permit as the required age to carry concealed is 21 in these states.
The new permit no longer has a red bar at the top.
There are two types of permits in Utah, a Standard Permit and a Provisional Permit, the later being issued to persons aged between 18 – 21. Some states will not accept both these permits due to the low age requirements on the Provisional Permit. The standard permit is very popular for non-residents as it allows them to travel in 30 states with a handgun. For a full list of what permits a state will accept please look at the official reciprocity list.
For people living in restrictive states like California the Utah Non-Resident permit has become a popular choice. It cannot be used in California but if you travel interstate regularly then it will allow you to carry in currently thirty other states.
One of the conditions to obtain a ccw permit is that you attend a firearms training course with a Utah certified instructor. There is no need to travel to Utah as these courses are widely available in other states. There are currently 178 Utah certified instructors in California alone. A full list of Utah certified instructors is available on the state website.
76.10.505 – Carrying Firearm
76.10.502 – Loaded firearm
76.9.102 – Disorderly conduct
PRIVATE GUN SALES
Utah does not require background checks on private handgun or long gun sales. The buyer must be at least 18 years old.
Any person who transfers an automatic weapon, sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun to a minor in violation of state or federal laws is guilty of a felony in the third degree.
“The people have the right to bear arms for their security and defense, but the legislature may regulate the exercise of this right by law”
Art. I § 6
Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Department of Public Safety.Utah Department of Public Safety Bureau of Criminal Identification 3888 West 5400 South Salt Lake City, Utah 84118
60 Days The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 60 days of the application being received.
Yes, you can check before you apply for a permit to see if any thing on your criminal history would prevent you from obtaining a permit.
You can visit the office below or phone them and they be able to tell you if you qualify for a permit.
Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification
If you have a permit then you can carry a loaded firearm. Handguns can be carried into public schools but not into residences or churches that have posted a no weapons sign. There are further federal and state areas that you cannot carry a weapon into listed in our Off-Limits section.
Nothing in the law prohibits a person from carrying a firearm in an establishment that serves alcohol. However, it is illegal to be in possession of a weapon while intoxicated.
If you feel threatened by a person, showing them your gun could result in you being charged with “Threatening with a Dangerous Weapon”. You can only pull or display a firearm to a person in direct self defense otherwise it is not justified.
Yes, any citizen of the U.S. or person legally residing in the U.S. is entitled to a Utah Concealed Carry Permit if they meet the requirements.
When purchasing a firearm your Utah permit can be used to waive any BCI background checks plus the associated fees. The dealer is still obligated to make a call to ensure your permit is valid.
Monday – Friday 7am – 5:30pm
Address 3888 West 5400 South
City Salt Lake City, Utah 84129
Phone (801) 965-4445