Read More

The Best Gun Belt

  • Mark Woodward
  • Reviews
  • January 8, 2021
Read More

Bullet Caliber Sizes: What Should I Use?

  • Wayne
  • CCW Training Basics
  • October 31, 2017
Read More

The Best IWB Holster

  • Paul Higgins
  • Reviews
  • February 13, 2020
Read More

The Best Shoulder Holster

  • Mark Woodward
  • Reviews
  • February 4, 2020

Texas Gun Laws

Texas is classed as a “shall Issue” state with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person at least 18 years old. Texas gun laws do not regulate the possession of firearms so any person, no matter what age, can possess a firearm as long as they are not a felon. To purchase a handgun a person must be at least 21 years old if buying from a federally licensed dealer. Licenses to carry are issued to both residents and non-residents with a 4-6 hour training course required. Open carry is legal provided the handgun is in a shoulder or belt holster.

Quick facts

STATES THAT HONOR
0
TX LICENSE
TOTAL ACTIVE CCW
0
LICENSES IN TX
STATE PERMITS
0
TX HONORS
STATES NOT
0
HONORING TX LICENSE

Texas Reciprocity Map

Permit Honored
Permit not honored
Residential permits only
Issuing state

Texas reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

All non-resident permits from states that Texas honors will be accepted in Texas as long as the holder of the permit is at least 21 years old.

Texas has signed reciprocity agreements with 31 other states which can be viewed at the Texas Department of Public Safety’s website.

36
STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

44
STATES

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, New York City, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

14
STATES

California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington.

District
Washington D.C.

Rhode Island – Only permits issued by the Rhode Island Attorney General will be honored by Texas
Ohio – Permits must have been issued or renewed after 3/23/15 to be honored in Texas.

Overview of the Texas LTC license

Texas state flag

  • Issue policy – Shall Issue
  • Issued to – Residents & Non-Residents
  • License Fee – $40
  • License Valid – 5 years

The Texas License To Carry (LTC) is issue to qualified applicants who are at least 21 years old or 18 if in the military. The license is also required if a person wants to carry a handgun openly. Previously the handgun permit was called a Concealed Handgun License CHL however this was changed to License To Carry (LTC) in January 2016.

Applications for a license are handled by the Department of Public Safety who require first time applications to be made online. There is a fee of $40 with the license being valid for 5 years.

Non-residents can apply online for a Texas LTC or mail in the forms. The application will need to contain the following;

  1. A color copy of your state drivers license or ID card. There must be a copy of the front and back.
  2. A handgun proficiency certificate that is not more than two years old.

Texas Non-Resident License is valid in:
AK, AL, AR, AZ, DE, GA, IA, ID, IN, KS, KY, LA, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NV, NM, OH, OK, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WI, WV, WY

All applicants are required to complete a 4-6 hour instruction course set by the state and taught by a licensed instructor. The cost of the courses varies but on average are around $100-$125. Course topics usually include state gun laws, handgun safety, liability and conflict resolution. There is a written and practical part to the course with the practical qualification requiring 50 rounds of ammunition to be fired. Once the course has been passed the instructor will supply a Certificate of Training (CHL-100) which the student must submit to the DPS.

Requirements to qualify for a Texas LTC license

  • Is a legal resident of this state for the six-month period preceding the date of application under this subchapter or is otherwise eligible for a license under Section 411.173(a);
  • Is at least 21 years of age; or at least 18 if you are a member or veteran of the US Armed Forces, Reserves or National Guard or was discharged under honorable conditions.
  • Has not been convicted of a felony;
  • Is not charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense, or of a felony under an information or indictment;
  • Is not a fugitive from justice for a felony or a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense;
  • Is not a chemically dependent person;
  • Is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun;
  • Has not, in the five years preceding the date of application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense;
  • is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun;
  • Has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney general;
  • Has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, the tax collector of a political subdivision of the state, or any agency or subdivision of the state;
  • Is not currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests;
  • Has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony; and
  • Has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174.
  • Federal Law Requirements

Essential forms for a Texas LTC license

Download Your Forms

Off-limit places in Texas for carrying a firearm

Places listed as off limits apply even if you have a Texas license to carry.

Places Off-Limits

  • On the premises of a business that derives 51% or more of its income from the sale or service of alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption
  • On the premises where a high school, collegiate, or professional sporting or interscholastic event is taking place
  • On the premises of a correctional facility
  • *On the premises of a hospital or nursing home
  • *In a permanent amusement park
  • *On the premises of a church, synagogue, or other place of worship
  • *At any meeting of a governmental entity
  • It is an offense to carry a handgun if the person is intoxicated
  • It is an offense to carry a handgun un-holstered and in plain view
  • Members of criminal street gangs are prohibited from carrying a concealed handgun
  • It is an offense to carry a concealed handgun if a person is involved in criminal activity
  • Polling places on day of election
  • Premises of a Racetrack
  • Secured area of airport
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

* The sections marked with an asterisk (*) do not apply if the person was not given effective notice under Section 30.06 or 30.07. (And must be posted with approved signage)

Places Allowed Tx

  • State parks – see details
  • State and national forests
  • Vehicle – see details
  • All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits

Texas gun laws & statutes

Texas state capitol building

All the most important Texas gun laws you should be aware of are listed below. Make yourself familiar with these laws before carry a firearm.

Summary table

SubjectHandgunsLong GunsNotes
Carry permit requiredYesNoPolicy is Shall Issue.
Purchase permit requiredNoNo 
Registration of firearmNoNo 
Open carry allowedYesYes 
Background checks on private gun sales requiredNoNo 
Magazine size restrictionNoNo 

Texas gun laws you need to know

YES

Any person who can legally possess a handgun can carry it within a vehicle.

However, if you do not have a Texas license to carry or a firearms license from another state that Texas honors then the firearm must be concealed in the glove box, console or other area but not on your person.

If you do have a LTC license then you can open carry in a vehicle if the firearm is in a shoulder or belt holster. And you can conceal carry in any mode you desire.

NO

In order to open carry a handgun in Texas you will need a LTC license.

If you do have a LTC or other state license Texas honors then you can only open carry if the firearm is in a shoulder or belt holster. These are the only ways Texas law allows a person to open carry. The police also have authority to ask for your license to carry when you open carry.

NO

There seems to be a bit of confusion here with some websites claiming you need to inform a law enforcement officer you have a weapon. The fact is the law does not mention this and you are not legally required to inform law enforcement you have a weapon. However, the law does require you to hand over your firearm licence and ID if requested to do so by law enforcement. Please watch the video on traffic stops for more clarification.

Sec. 411.205 Requirement to Display License

NO

Texas does not have constitutional carry.

YES

It is legal to carry in the following areas;

State Parks:    YES  
State/National Forests:    YES
State Game Management Units:    YES
Road Side Rest Areas:   YES

YES

“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.

YES

It is legal to carry in the following areas;

State Parks:    YES  
State/National Forests:    YES
State Game Management Units:    YES
Road Side Rest Areas:   YES

Accordion Content

“Every citizen shall have the right to keep and bear arms in the lawful defense of himself or the State; but the legislature shall have power, by law, to regulate the wearing of arms, with a view to prevent crime”.

(ART. I § 23)

Off-Limits Statutes

(a) A license holder commits an offense if the license holder carries a handgun on or about the license holder’s person under the authority of Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, and intentionally displays the handgun in plain view of another person in a public place. It is an exception to the application of this subsection that the handgun was partially or wholly visible but was carried in a shoulder or belt holster by the license holder.

(a-1) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), a license holder commits an offense if the license holder carries a partially or wholly visible handgun, regardless of whether the handgun is holstered, on or about the license holder’s person under the authority of Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, and intentionally displays the handgun in plain view of another person:

  1. on the premises of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education; or
  2. on any public or private driveway, street, sidewalk or walkway, parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education.

(b) A license holder commits an offense if the license holder intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries a handgun regardless of whether the handgun is concealed or carried in a shoulder or belt holster, on or about the license holder ’s person:

  1. on the premises of a business that has a permit or license issued under Chapter 25, 28, 32, 69, or 74, Alcoholic Beverage Code, if the business derives 51 percent or more of its income from the sale or service of alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption, as determined by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission under Section 104.06, Alcoholic Beverage Code;
  2. on the premises where a high school, collegiate, or professional sporting event or interscholastic event is taking place, unless the license holder is a participant in the event and a handgun is used in the event;
  3. on the premises of a correctional facility;

*Subsections (b)(4), (b)(5), (b)(6), and (c) do not apply if the actor was not given effective notice under Section 30.06 or 30.07.

(d) A license holder commits an offense if, while intoxicated, the license holder carries a handgun under the authority of Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, regardless of whether the handgun is concealed or carried in a shoulder or belt holster.

(e) A license holder who is licensed as a security officer under Chapter 1702, Occupations Code, and employed as a security officer commits an offense if, while in the course and scope of the security officer’s employment, the security officer violates a provision of Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code.

(f) In this section:

  1.  “Amusement park” means a permanent indoor or outdoor facility or park where amusement rides are available for use by the public that is located in a county with a population of more than one million, encompasses at least 75 acres in surface area, is enclosed with access only through controlled entries, is open for operation more than 120 days in each calendar year, and has security guards on the premises at all times. The term does not include any public or private driveway, street, sidewalk or walkway, parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area.
  2. “License holder” means a person licensed to carry a handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code.
  3. “Premises” means a building or a portion of a building. The term does not include any public or private driveway, street, sidewalk or walkway, parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area.

(1-a) “Institution of higher education” and “private or independent institution of higher education” have the meanings assigned by Section 61.003, Education Code.

(g) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor, unless the offense is committed under Subsection (b)(1) or (b)(3), in which event the offense is a felony of the third degree.

(h) It is a defense to prosecution under Subsection (a) or (a-1) that the actor, at the time of the commission of the offense, displayed the handgun under circumstances in which the actor would have been justified in the use of force or deadly force under Chapter 9.

(i) Subsections (b)(4), (b)(5), (b)(6), and (c) do not apply if the actor was not given effective notice under Section 30.06 or 30.07.

(j) Subsections (a), (a-1), and (b)(1) do not apply to a historical reenactment performed in compliance with the rules of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission.

Other CCW statutes

(e-1) It is a defense to prosecution under Subsection (a)(5) that the actor:

  1. possessed, at the screening checkpoint for the secured area, a concealed handgun that the actor was licensed to carry under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code; and
  2.  exited the screening checkpoint for the secured area immediately upon completion of the required Screening processes and notification that the actor possessed the handgun.

(e-2) A peace officer investigating conduct that may constitute an offense under Subsection (a)(5) and that consists only of an actor’s possession of a handgun that the actor is licensed to carry under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, may not arrest the actor for the offense unless:

  1. the officer advises the actor of the defense available under Subsection (e-1) and gives the actor an opportunity to exit the screening checkpoint for the secured area; and
  2. the actor does not immediately exit the checkpoint upon completion of the required screening processes.

It is an exception to the application of this section that the property on which the license holder carries a concealed handgun is owned or leased by a governmental entity and is not a premises or other place on which the license holder is prohibited from carrying the handgun under Section 46.03 or 46.035. In order to provide notice that entry on property by a license holder with a handgun is forbidden

Penal Code 30.06(c)(3)(A) Trespass By License Holder With a Concealed Handgun.

(a) A license holder commits an offense if the license holder:

  1.  carries a concealed handgun under the authority of Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, on property of another without effective consent; and
  2.  received notice that entry on the property by a license holder with a concealed handgun was forbidden.
  3.  “Written communication” means:
  • (A) a card or other document on which is written language identical to the following: “Pursuant to Section 30.06, Penal Code (trespass by license holder with a concealed handgun), a person licensed under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code handgun licensing law), may not enter this property with a concealed handgun”; or
  • (B) a sign posted on the property that:
    • (i) includes the language described by Paragraph (A) in both English and Spanish;
    • (ii) appears in contrasting colors with block letters at least one inch in height; and
    • (iii) is displayed in a conspicuous manner clearly visible to the public.

(a) A license holder commits an offense if the license holder:

  1. openly carries a handgun under the authority of Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, on property of another without effective consent; and
  2. received notice that entry on the property by a license holder openly carrying a handgun was forbidden.

(b) For purposes of this section, a person receives notice if the owner of the property or someone with apparent authority to act for the owner provides notice to the person by oral or written communication.

(c) In this section:

  1. “Entry” has the meaning assigned by Section 30.05(b).
  2. “License holder” has the meaning assigned by Section 46.035(f).
  3. “Written communication” means:

(A) a card or other document on which is written language identical to the following: “Pursuant to Section 30.07, Penal Code (trespass by license holder with an openly carried handgun), a person licensed under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code (handgun licensing law), may not enter this property with a handgun that is carried openly”; or

(B) a sign posted on the property that:

  • (i) includes the language described by Paragraph (A) in both English and Spanish;
  • (ii) appears in contrasting colors with block letters at least one inch in height; and
  • (iii) is displayed in a conspicuous manner clearly visible to the public at each entrance to the property.

(d) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed $200, except that the offense is a Class A misdemeanor if it is shown on the trial of the offense that, after entering the property, the license holder was personally given the notice by oral communication described by Subsection (b) and subsequently failed to depart.

(e) It is an exception to the application of this section that the property on which the license holder openly carries the handgun is owned or leased by a governmental entity and is not a premises or other place on which the license holder is prohibited from carrying the handgun under Section 46.03 or 46.035.

(f) It is not a defense to prosecution under this section that the handgun was carried in a shoulder or belt holster.

(a) Except as provided by Subsection (i), a state agency or a political subdivision of the state may not provide notice by a communication described by Section 30.06, Penal Code, or by any sign expressly referring to that law or to a license to carry a handgun, that a license holder carrying a handgun under the authority of this subchapter is prohibited from entering or remaining on a premises or other place owned or leased by the governmental entity unless license holders are prohibited from carrying a handgun on the premises or other place by Section 46.03 or 46.035, Penal Code.

(b) A state agency or a political subdivision of the state that violates Subsection (a) is liable for a civil penalty of:

  1. not less than $1,000 and not more than $1,500 for the first violation; and
  2. not less than $10,000 and not more than $10,500 for the second or a subsequent violation.

(c) Each day of a continuing violation of Subsection (a) constitutes a separate violation.

(d) A resident of this state or a person licensed to carry a handgun under this subchapter may file a complaint with the attorney general that a state agency or political subdivision is in violation of Subsection (a) if the resident or person provides the agency or subdivision a written notice that describes the violation and specific location of the sign found to be in violation and the agency or subdivision does not cure the violation before the end of the third business day after the date of receiving the written notice. (See complete statute. Edited for space Considerations.)

If a license holder is carrying a handgun on or about the license holder’s person when a magistrate or a peace officer demands that the license holder display identification, the license holder shall display both the license holder’s driver’s license or identification certificate issued by the department and the license holder’s handgun license.

(a) A person commits an offense if the person [he] intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries on or about his or her person a handgun, illegal knife, or club if the person is not:

  1. on the person’s own premises or premises under the person’s control; or
  2. inside of or directly en route to a motor vehicle or watercraft that is owned by the person or under the person’s control.

(a-1) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries on or about his or her person a handgun in a motor vehicle or watercraft that is owned by the person or under the person’s control at any time in which:

  1. the handgun is in plain view, unless the person is licensed to carry a handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, and the handgun is carried in a shoulder or belt holster; or
  2. the person is:
  • (A) engaged in criminal activity, other than a Class C misdemeanor that is a violation of a law or ordinance regulating traffic or boating;
  • (B) prohibited by law from possessing a firearm; or
  • (C) a member of a criminal street gang, as defined by Section 71.01.

(a-1) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), a license holder commits an offense if the license holder carries a partially or wholly visible handgun, regardless of whether the handgun is holstered, on or about the license holder ’s person under the authority of Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, and intentionally displays the handgun in plain view of another person:

  1. on the premises of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education; or
  2. on any public or private driveway, street, sidewalk or walkway, parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education.

(a) Notwithstanding any other law, including Section 43.002 of this code and Chapter 251, Agriculture Code, a municipality may not adopt regulations relating to:

  1. the transfer, private ownership, keeping, transportation, licensing, or registration of firearms, air guns, knives, ammunition, or firearm or air gun supplies; or
  2. the discharge of a firearm or air gun at a sport shooting range.

(b) Subsection (a) does not affect the authority a municipality has under another law to:

  1. require residents or public employees to be armed for personal or national defense, law enforcement, or another lawful purpose;
  2. regulate the discharge of firearms or air guns within the limits of the municipality, other than at a sport shooting range;
  3. regulate the use of property, the location of a business, or uses at a business under the municipality’s fire code, zoning ordinance, or land-use regulations as long as the code, ordinance, or regulations are not used to circumvent the intent of Subsection (a) or Subdivision (5) of this subsection;
  4. regulate the use of firearms, [or] air guns, or knives in the case of an insurrection, riot, or natural disaster if the municipality finds the regulations necessary to protect public health and safety;
  5. regulate the storage or transportation of explosives to protect public health and safety, except that 25 pounds or less of black powder for each private residence and 50 pounds or less of black powder for each retail dealer are not subject to regulation;
  6. regulate the carrying of a firearm or air gun by a person other than a person licensed to carry a handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, at a:
  • (A) public park;
  • (B) public meeting of a municipality, county, or other governmental body;
  • (C) political rally, parade, or official political meeting; or
  • (D) nonfirearms-related school, college, or professional athletic event;

7. regulate the hours of operation of a sport shooting range, except that the hours of operation may not be more limited than the least limited hours of operation of any other business in the municipality other than a business permitted or licensed to sell or serve alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption; or

8. regulate the carrying of an air gun by a minor on:

  • (A) public property; or
  • (B) private property without consent of the property owner.

(c) The exception provided by Subsection (b)(6) does not apply if the firearm or air gun is in or is carried to or from an area designated for use in a lawful hunting, fishing, or other sporting event and the firearm or air gun is of the type commonly used in the activity.

(d) The exception provided by Subsection (b)(4) does not authorize the seizure or confiscation of any firearm, air gun, knife, or ammunition from an individual who is lawfully carrying or possessing the firearm, air gun, knife, or ammunition.

(e) In this section:

  1. (1) “Air gun” means any gun that discharges a pellet, BB, or paintball by means of compressed air, gas propellant, or a spring.
  2. (2) “Knife” has the meaning assigned by Section 46.01, Penal Code.
  3. (3) “Sport shooting range” has the meaning assigned by Section 250.001.

(f) The attorney general may bring an action in the name of the state to obtain a temporary or permanent injunction against a municipality adopting a regulation in violation of this section.

  • (a) A directive issued under this chapter may not authorize the seizure or confiscation of any firearm or ammunition from an individual who is lawfully carrying or possessing the firearm or ammunition.
  • (b) A peace officer who is acting in the lawful execution of the officer’s official duties during a state of emergency may disarm an individual if the officer reasonably believes it is immediately necessary for the protection of the officer or another individual.
  • (c) The peace officer shall return a firearm and any ammunition to an individual disarmed under Subsection
  • (d) before ceasing to detain the individual unless the officer:
  1. arrests the individual for engaging in criminal activity; or
  2. seizes the firearm as evidence in a criminal investigation.

Miscellaneous laws

A private citizen is allowed to sell, gift, or lease a handgun to any person 18 or older who is not a felon. No gun registration or purchase license is required in Texas.

To purchase from a federally licensed gun dealer a person must be 21 years or older.

Local Gov Code § 229.001. Firearms; Air Guns; Knives; Explosives.

(a) Notwithstanding any other law, including Section 43.002 of this code and Chapter 251, Agriculture Code, a municipality may not adopt regulations relating to:

  1. the transfer, private ownership, keeping, transportation, licensing, or registration of firearms, air guns, knives, ammunition, or firearm or air gun supplies; or
  2. the discharge of a firearm or air gun at a sport shooting range.

(b) Subsection (a) does not affect the authority a municipality has under another law to:

    1. require residents or public employees to be armed for personal or national defense, law enforcement, or another lawful purpose;
    2. regulate the discharge of firearms or air guns within the limits of the municipality, other than at a sport shooting range;
    3. regulate the use of property, the location of a business, or uses at a business under the municipality’s fire code, zoning ordinance, or land-use regulations as long as the code, ordinance, or regulations are not used to circumvent the intent of Subsection (a) or Subdivision (5) of this subsection;
    4. regulate the use of firearms, [or] air guns, or knives in the case of an insurrection, riot, or natural disaster if the municipality finds the regulations necessary to protect public health and safety;
    5. regulate the storage or transportation of explosives to protect public health and safety, except that 25 pounds or less of black powder for each private residence and 50 pounds or less of black powder for each retail dealer are not subject to regulation;
    6. (6)regulate the carrying of a firearm or air gun by a person other than a person licensed to carry a handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, at a:
      • (A) public park;
      • (B) public meeting of a municipality, county, or other governmental body;
      • (C) political rally, parade, or official political meeting; or
      • (D) nonfirearms-related school, college, or professional athletic event;
    7. regulate the hours of operation of a sport shooting range, except that the hours of operation may not be more limited than the least limited hours of operation of any other business in the municipality other than a business permitted or licensed to sell or serve alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption; or regulate the carrying of an air gun by a minor on:
    8. (8) regulate the carrying of an air gun by a minor on:
    • (A) public property; or
    • (B) private property without consent of the property owner.
    (c) The exception provided by Subsection (b)(6) does not apply if the firearm or air gun is in or is carried to or from an area designated for use in a lawful hunting, fishing, or other sporting event and the firearm or air gun is of the type commonly used in the activity.
    (d) The exception provided by Subsection (b)(4) does not authorize the seizure or confiscation of any firearm, air gun, knife, or ammunition from an individual who is lawfully carrying or possessing the firearm, air gun, knife, or ammunition.
    (e) In this section:
    1. (1) “Air gun” means any gun that discharges a pellet, BB, or paintball by means of compressed air, gas propellant, or a spring.
    2. (2) “Knife” has the meaning assigned by Section 46.01, Penal Code.
    3. (3) “Sport shooting range” has the meaning assigned by Section 250.001.
    (f) The attorney general may bring an action in the name of the state to obtain a temporary or permanent injunction against a municipality adopting a regulation in violation of this section.

History of Texas gun laws

Frequently asked questions on Texas gun laws

Concealed carry handgun licenses are issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

60 Days
The application for a concealed carry handgun license must be processed within 60 – 180 days of the application being received. Applications can take up to 180 days if there is missing documents or information.

Yes, but only the classroom part can be done online. You will still need to have 1-2 hours of firing practice with an instructor.

Some instructors will provide you with a gun but not all. Others may require you to bring your own gun.

Once you have filed an application for a license to carry you will need to wait before until you receive the actual license before you can carry a weapon.

The law requires any person open carrying a handgun to have it in either a belt or shoulder holster and they must have a LTC license.

Yes, Texas law does not prohibit the carrying of a weapon in public parks.

The gun laws in Texas are silent on the number of guns a person can carry. So you are free to carry as many as you like.

No, firearms can only be registered to one person.

If you move to another address you can submit a request online for change of address.

No, a license to carry is issued to residents and non-residents.

You can submit a request for a new license online. You will be issued a new license number for security reasons, (in case the license was stolen).

If it was more than 5 years ago yes. Driving under the influence is a class B misdemeanor.

Texas Department of Public Safety

Hours


Monday – Friday    9am – 5pm

Saturday                  Closed

Sunday                    Closed

Contact


Address  5805 North Lamar Blvd

City          Austin, TX 78752-4431

Phone     (512) 424-7293