Read More

The Best Gun Belt

  • Mark Woodward
  • Reviews
  • January 8, 2021
Read More

Slide #2

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #3

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #4

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.

OREGON GUN LAWS

The Full Guide

Need some info on Oregon gun laws?
Well you will find the answer on this page. Everything is here, laws, license applications, reciprocity...
Need some info on Oregon gun laws?

Oregon gun laws operate on a “Shall Issue” policy handgun license applications being processed at the county level by the local sheriff’s office. Oregon differs slightly from other states in that it has very few restrictions on where a concealed handgun can be carried. Additionally Oregon is an open carry state with local cities and counties authorized to place restrictions on persons who open carry but do not have a concealed handgun license. The Oregon State police also keep records of all gun sales from FFL dealers which are supposed to be destroyed after a period of 5 years.

TOTAL ACTIVE CCW

0
LICENSES IN OREGON

Gun Laws

STATE RATING
Average

STATES THAT HONOR

0
AN OREGON PERMIT

STATE PERMITS

0
OREGON HONORS

STATES NOT

0
HONORING LICENSE

Oregon CCW Reciprocity

Created with Raphaël 2.0.1ALAK AZ ARCACOCTDEDCFLGAHIIDILINIAKSKYLAMEMDMAMIMNMSMOMTNENVNHNJNMNYNCNDOHOKORPARISCSDTNTXUTVTVAWAWVWIWY
Permit Honored
Permit not honored
Residential permit only
Issuing state

How Reciprocity Works in Oregon

Oregon will not honor any concealed carry licenses from other states.

Oregon Reciprocity State's

23
STATES

RESIDENT LICENSE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia

NON-RESIDENT LICENSE
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia

0
STATES

Oregon does not honor any other states concealed carry licenses.

27
STATES & DISTRICTS

California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Dakota, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia

Oregon CCW License

Oregon Issue Policy

Shall Issue

License Issued To

Residents, Non-Residents

COST OF

$65

FIREARMS PERMIT

YEARS PERMIT

4

IS VALID

Oregon CCW Forms

Download Your Forms

DAYS TO PROCESS

45

NEW PERMIT

  • Handgun License Application
  • Non-Residential License Application
  • Instructions for Handgun License

Oregon: Places Off-Limits for CCW

Oregon state flag

Places Off-Limits in Oregon

  • Posted private property where the owner prohibits firearms
  • Posted private businesses
  • State courthouses
  • Correctional facility
  • Racecourse
  • Indian resevation and some casinos on reservations, unless permission granted
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

Places Allowed in Oregon

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed as off limits

Pointers: Oregon Gun Laws

Oregon Concealed Carry Laws

Oregon state capitol building

Oregon Gun Laws To Know

“The people shall have the right to bear arms for the defense of themselves, and the state, but the Military shall be kept in strict subordination to the civil power”
(Art. I, Section 27)

Oregon Off-Limit Statutes

Other Oregon Statutes

For information on other states handgun laws please go back to the state laws page and select the state you are interested in.

Oregon CCW FAQ's

Oregon CCW Contact

Marion County Sheriff

Hours


Monday – Friday8:30am – 5pm

SaturdayClosed

SundayClosed

 

Contact


Address555 Court St NE,

AddressSuite 5232

CitySalem, OR 97301

Phone(503)-588-5225