Read More

The Best Gun Belt

  • Mark Woodward
  • Reviews
  • January 8, 2021
Read More

Slide #2

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #3

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #4

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.

Ohio Gun Laws

Ohio gun laws allow residents of the state aged 21 and older to obtain a concealed firearms permit. They must have completed 8 hours of firearms training and meet other criteria to qualify. Non-residents can obtain a concealed carry license if they work in Ohio and they can also carry a firearm on any valid out-of-state permit, whether or not there is a reciprocity agreement with Ohio. Exemptions are made for military personnel who are posted in Ohio. Open carry is legal without a permit but not in vehicles.

Ohio Handgun License

LICENSE ISSUED TO
Residents
Non-Residents
STATE POLICY
Shall Issue

Ohio Handgun License

Ohio CCW Dashboard

MINIMUM
0
AGE REQUIRED
COST OF
$ 0
A CCW LICENSE
YEARS LICENSE
0
VALID
YEAR LICENSE
0
DATA UPDATED
ACTIVE CCW
0
PERMITS IN OHIO
POPULATION WITH
0 %
A CCW LICENSE
STATES THAT HONOR
0
AN OHIO PERMIT
STATE PERMITS
0
OHIO HONORS
GUN LAWS
STATE RATING
Average

Ohio Reciprocity Map

Created with Raphaël 2.0.1ALAK AZ ARCACOCTDEDCFLGAHIIDILINIAKSKYLAMEMDMAMIMNMSMOMTNENVNHNJNMNYNCNDOHOKORPARISCSDTNTXUTVTVAWAWVWIWY
Permit Honored
Permit not honored
Residential permits only
Only if issued after 3/22/15
Issuing state

Ohio CCW Reciprocity

Ohio Reciprocity State List

38
STATES
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
53
STATES
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania,Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming Districts & Territories District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands
12
STATES
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington D.C.

How Reciprocity Works in Ohio

Ohio will automatically recognize a valid concealed carry permit from any other state. It is not necessary that there is a reciprocity agreement between the states for the permit to be recognized. The law also gives Ohio the right to enter into reciprocity agreements with other states. 
 

Ohio Reciprocity Agreements

Currently Ohio has entered into reciprocity agreements with 22 other states. There are 12 states that will not honor an Ohio permit. All the reciprocity agreements can be viewed at the Ohio Attorney Generals website.

Ohio state flag

(A)(1) The attorney general shall negotiate and enter into a reciprocity agreement with any other license-issuing state under which a concealed handgun license that is issued by the other state is recognized in this state, except as provided in division (B) of this section, if the attorney general determines that both of the following apply:
(a) The eligibility requirements imposed by that license-issuing state for that license are substantially comparable to the eligibility requirements for a concealed handgun license issued under section 2923.125 of the Revised Code.
(b) That license-issuing state recognizes a concealed handgun license issued under section 2923.125 of the Revised Code.

(2) A reciprocity agreement entered into under division (A)(1) of this section also may provide for the recognition in this state of a concealed handgun license issued on a temporary or emergency basis by the other license-issuing state, if the eligibility requirements imposed by that license-issuing state for the temporary or emergency license are substantially comparable to the eligibility requirements for a concealed handgun license issued under section 2923.125 or 2923.1213 of the Revised Code and if that license-issuing state recognizes a concealed handgun license issued under section 2923.1213 of the Revised Code.

(3) The attorney general shall not negotiate any agreement with any other license-issuing state under which a concealed handgun license issued by the other state is recognized in this state other than as provided in divisions (A)(1) and (2) of this section.

(B)(1) If, on or after the effective date of this amendment, a person who is a resident of this state has a valid concealed handgun license that was issued by another license-issuing state that has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the attorney general under division (A)(1) of this section or the attorney general determines that the eligibility requirements imposed by that license-issuing state for that license are substantially comparable to the eligibility requirements for a concealed handgun license issued under section 2923.125 of the Revised Code, the license issued by the other license-issuing state shall be recognized in this state, shall be accepted and valid in this state, and grants the person the same right to carry a concealed handgun in this state as a person who was issued a concealed handgun license under section 2923.125 of the Revised Code.

(2) If, on or after the effective date of this amendment, a person who is a resident of this state has a valid concealed handgun license that was issued by another license-issuing state that has not entered into a reciprocity agreement with the attorney general under division (A)(1) of this section, the license issued by the other license-issuing state shall be recognized in this state, shall be accepted and valid in this state, and grants the person the same right to carry a concealed handgun in this state as a person who was issued a concealed handgun license under section 2923.125 of the Revised Code for a period of six months after the person became a resident of this state. After that six-month period, if the person wishes to obtain a concealed handgun license, the person shall apply for a concealed handgun license pursuant to section 2923.125 of the Revised Code.

(3) If, on or after the effective date of this amendment, a person who is not a resident of this state has a valid concealed handgun license that was issued by another license-issuing state, regardless of whether the other license-issuing state has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the attorney general under division (A)(1) of this section, and the person is temporarily in this state, during the time that the person is temporarily in this state the license issued by the other license-issuing state shall be recognized in this state, shall be accepted and valid in this state, and grants the person the same right to carry a concealed handgun in this state as a person who was issued a concealed handgun license under section 2923.125 of the Revised Code.

(C) The attorney general shall publish each determination described in division (B)(1) of this section that the attorney general makes in the same manner that written agreements entered into under division (A)(1) or (2) of this section are published.

(D) As used in this section:
(1) “Handgun,” “concealed handgun license,” and “valid concealed handgun license” have the same meanings as in section 2923.11 of the Revised Code.
(2) “License-issuing state” means a state other than this state that, pursuant to law, provides for the issuance of a license to carry a concealed handgun.

Ohio Handgun License Forms

Download Your Forms

Pointers: Ohio Handgun Laws

Ohio: Places Off-Limits for CCW

Places Off-Limits in Ohio

  • Police stations
  • Sheriffs’ offices
  • Highway Patrol posts
  • Premises controlled by BCI
  • Correctional institutions or other detention facilities
  • Airports secure areas
  • Facilities for the care of mentally ill persons
  • Courthouses or buildings in which a courtroom is located
  • Universities, unless locked in a motor vehicle
  • Colleges can decide for themselves if concealed carry is allowed
  • Government Bodies can decide for themselves if concealed carry is allowed
  • Places of worship, unless the place of worship permits otherwise
  • Child Day-Care Centers (Only If Posted)
  • Schools, but OK if locked in vehicle on school premises
  • Licensed Class D liquor permit premises, if you are consuming beer or intoxicating liquor or are under the influence
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

Places Allowed in Ohio

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • Airports non secure area
  • Day-care centers unless the day-care center has posted a “no-guns” sign
  • School premises if locked in a motor vehicle
  • Private aircraft
  • Business entities, property owners or public or private employers cannot ban anyone who has been issued a valid concealed handgun license from transporting or storing a firearm or ammunition when the items are locked in a person’s privately-owned motor vehicle on company property
  • All areas of the state – except those listed as off-limits.

Ohio Handgun Laws To Know

YES/NO – WITHOUT A PERMIT

Without a concealed carry license you may not have a loaded handgun in the vehicle. Motorcycles fall under the definition of motor vehicles.

  • As of September 30, 2011, firearms are no longer required to be carried in a holster, on the person while in a vehicle. (SB17)
  • As of September 30, 2011, firearms are no longer required to be in a closed case, bag, box, or other container that is in plain sight and that has a lid, a cover, or a closing mechanism. (SB17)
  • As of September 30, 2011, firearms are no longer required to be securely encased by being stored in a closed glove compartment or vehicle console, or in a case that is locked. (SB17)

The Law 2923.16

YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT

Open carry in Ohio is legal without any license. However, you will need a permit to carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle.

YES – MUST INFORM OFFICER

Ohio gun laws say – “If a person is stopped for a law enforcement purpose and is carrying a concealed handgun as a CCW licensee, whether in a motor vehicle or not, he shall promptly inform the law enforcement officer that he is carrying a concealed handgun. If in a vehicle, the licensee shall remain in the vehicle and keep his hands in plain sight at all times and have no contact with the firearm.” The Law Sec. 2923.16

NO

Ohio does not have Constitutional Carry.

YES

It is legal to carry in the following areas; State Parks:    YES    Buildings are off limits State/National Forests:    YES      Buildings are off limits State Wildlife Management Areas:    YES Buildings are off limits Road Side Rest Areas:   YES      

YES

“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol. It is illegal too carry a firearm if you have been consuming Alcohol. If you have consumed alcohol you are not allowed the weapon on your person or in a vehicle. You will need a permit to carry a firearm in Class D liquor premises. The Law Sec. 2923.121

YES

Ohio gun laws give “No Weapons” signs the force of law. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged. The Law Sec. 2923.126

History of Ohio Gun Laws

Learn Ohio’s Gun History

  • 1788 – A law to establish a militia is enacted. This is the first law relating to firearms in Ohio. It requires that all men aged between 16 and 50 participate in military duty. They must be armed with a musket, bayonet and four pounds of lead.
  • 1802 – Ohio enacts its first state constitution which states that “The people have the right to bear arms for their defense and security.”
  • 1859 – Ohio bans the carrying of concealed weapons.
  • 1974 – The ban on carrying concealed weapons is modified slightly to to allow for a defense of a concealed carry violation if the person could prove they were justified in carrying the weapon concealed.
  • 2002 – In a test case Klein v. Leis Ohio’s ban on concealed carry is declared unconstitutional by Judge Ruehlman.
  • 2003 – Klein v. Leis case is reversed by Ohio Supreme Court.
  • 2004 – Bill H.B. 12 is signed and Ohio legalizes concealed carry although the requirements are regarded as the most restrictive in the United States.
  • 2004 – 2016 numerous bills are enacted during these years that gradually eliminates the more restrictive sections of the concealed carry law bringing it into line with the rest of the United States.

Ohio Gun Sales & Preemption

Private Gun Sales in Ohio

There is no requirement under Ohio gun laws for a background check on private gun sales.


Preemption in Ohio

There is full state preemption on all firearms laws in Ohio. Except any local laws restricting the discharge of firearms and some zoning laws. Preemption was confirmed by the Ohio Supreme Court in City of Cleveland v. Ohio

Ohio Gun Statutes

“The people have the right to bear arms for their defense and security; but standing armies, in time of peace, are dangerous to liberty, and shall not be kept up; and the military shall be in strict subordination to the civil power.”

Ohio State Capitol Building

Off-Limits Statutes

(B) A valid concealed handgun license does not authorize the licensee to carry a concealed handgun in any manner prohibited under division (B) of section 2923.12 of the Revised Code or in any manner prohibited under section 2923.16 of the Revised Code. A valid license does not authorize the licensee to carry a concealed handgun into any of the following places:

  1. A police station, sheriff’s office, or state highway patrol station, premises controlled by the bureau of criminal identification and investigation; a state correctional institution, jail, workhouse, or other detention facility; any area of an airport passenger terminal that is beyond a passenger or property screening checkpoint or to which access is restricted through security measures by the airport authority or a public agency; or an institution that is maintained, operated, managed, and governed pursuant to division (A) of section 5119.14 of the Revised Code or division (A)(1) of section 5123.03 of the Revised Code;
  2. A school safety zone if the licensee’s carrying the concealed handgun is in violation of section 2923.122 of the Revised Code;
  3. A courthouse or another building or structure in which a courtroom is located, in violation of section 2923.123 of the Revised Code;
  4. Any premises or open air arena for which a D permit has been issued under Chapter 4303. of the Revised Code if the licensee’s carrying the concealed handgun is in violation of section 2923.121 of the Revised Code;
  5.  Any premises owned or leased by any public or private college, university, or other institution of higher education, unless the handgun is in a locked motor vehicle or the licensee is in the immediate process of placing the handgun in a locked motor vehicle or unless the licensee is carrying the concealed handgun pursuant to a written policy, rule, or other authorization that is adopted by the institution’s board of trustees or other governing body and that authorizes specific individuals or classes of individuals to carry a concealed handgun on the premises;
  6. Any church, synagogue, mosque, or other place of worship, unless the church, synagogue, mosque, or other place of worship posts or permits otherwise;
  7. Any building that is a government facility of this state or a political subdivision of this state and that is not a building that is used primarily as a shelter, restroom, parking facility for motor vehicles, or rest facility and is not a courthouse or other building or structure in which a courtroom is located that is subject to division (B)(3) of this section, unless the governing body with authority over the building has enacted a statute, ordinance, or policy that permits a licensee to carry a concealed handgun into the building;
  8.  A place in which federal law prohibits the carrying of handguns.
 
  • As of September 30, 2011, firearms are no longer required to be carried in a holster, on the person while in a vehicle. (SB17)
  • As of September 30, 2011, firearms are no longer required to be in a closed case, bag, box, or other container that is in plain sight and that has a lid, a cover, or a closing mechanism. (SB17)
  • As of September 30, 2011, firearms are no longer required to be securely encased by being stored in a closed glove compartment or vehicle console, or in a case that is locked. (SB17)

The Law 2923.16

(a) The person is carrying a valid concealed handgun license or the person is an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States and is carrying a valid military identification card and documentation of successful completion of firearms training that meets or exceeds the training requirements described in division (G)(1) of section 2923.125 of the Revised Code .
(b) The person leaves the handgun in a motor vehicle.
(c) The handgun does not leave the motor vehicle.
(d) If the person exits the motor vehicle, the person locks the motor vehicle.

(B) A valid concealed handgun license does not authorize the licensee to carry a concealed handgun in any manner prohibited under division (B) of section 2923.12 of the Revised Code or in any manner prohibited under section 2923.16 of the Revised Code. A valid license does not authorize the licensee to carry a concealed handgun into any of the following places:

(5) Any premises owned or leased by any public or private college, university, or other institution of higher education, unless the handgun is in a locked motor vehicle or the licensee is in the immediate process of placing the handgun in a locked motor vehicle or unless the licensee is carrying the concealed handgun pursuant to a written policy, rule, or other authorization that is adopted by the institution’s board of trustees or other governing body and that authorizes specific individuals or classes of individuals to carry a concealed handgun on the premises;

C) allows private employers to prohibit the presence of firearms on their property or in motor vehicles owned by the employer

(F)(7) Nothing in this section prohibits or restricts a person from possessing, storing, or leaving a firearm in a locked motor vehicle that is parked in the state underground parking garage at the state capitol building or in the parking garage at the Riffe center for government and the arts in Columbus, if the person’s transportation and possession of the firearm in the motor vehicle while traveling to the premises or facility was not in violation of division (A), (B), (C), (D), or (E) of this section or any other provision of the Revised Code.

(C)(3)(a) ….. If a person knowingly violates a posted prohibition of that nature and the posted land or premises primarily was a parking lot or other parking facility, the person is not guilty of criminal trespass under section 2911.21 of the Revised Code or under any other criminal law of this state or criminal law, ordinance, or resolution of a political subdivision of this state, and instead is subject only to a civil cause of action for trespass based on the violation.

(C)(3) (b) A landlord may not prohibit or restrict a tenant who is a licensee and who on or after September 9, 2008, enters into a rental agreement with the landlord for the use of residential premises, and the tenant’s guest while the tenant is present, from lawfully carrying or possessing a handgun on those residential premises.

(A) “Capitol buildings” shall include the capitol, atrium connector and senate building

(B) “Capitol grounds” shall be defined as the property surrounding the capitol buildings bounded by High street on the west, Third street on the east, Broad street on the north and State street on the south side of the capitol and accompanying steps leading to the capitol buildings.

Other CCW Statutes

(E) No person who has been issued a concealed handgun license, who is the driver or an occupant of a motor vehicle that is stopped as a result of a traffic stop or a stop for another law enforcement purpose or is the driver or an occupant of a commercial motor vehicle that is stopped by an employee of the motor carrier enforcement unit for the purposes defined in section 5503.34 of the Revised Code, and who is transporting or has a loaded handgun in the motor vehicle or commercial motor vehicle in any manner, shall do any of the following:

  1. Fail to promptly inform any law enforcement officer who approaches the vehicle while stopped that the person has been issued a concealed handgun license and that the person then possesses or has a loaded handgun in the motor vehicle;
  2. Fail to promptly inform the employee of the unit who approaches the vehicle while stopped that the person has been issued a concealed handgun license and that the person then possesses or has a loaded handgun in the commercial motor vehicle;
  3. Knowingly fail to remain in the motor vehicle while stopped or knowingly fail to keep the person’s hands in plain sight at any time after any law enforcement officer begins approaching the person while stopped and before the law enforcement officer leaves, unless the failure is pursuant to and in accordance with directions given by a law enforcement officer;
  4. Knowingly have contact with the loaded handgun by touching it with the person’s hands or fingers in the motor vehicle at any time after the law enforcement officer begins approaching and before the law enforcement officer leaves, unless the person has contact with the loaded handgun pursuant to and in accordance with directions given by the law enforcement officer;
  5. Knowingly disregard or fail to comply with any lawful order of any law enforcement officer given while the motor vehicle is stopped, including, but not limited to, a specific order to the person to keep the person’s hands in plain sight.

(C)(3) (a) Except as provided in division (C)(3)(b) of this section, the owner or person in control of private land or premises, and a private person or entity leasing land or premises owned by the state, the United States, or a political subdivision of the state or the United States, may post a sign in a conspicuous location on that land or on those premises prohibiting persons from carrying firearms or concealed firearms on or onto that land or those premises. Except as otherwise provided in this division, a person who knowingly violates a posted prohibition of that nature is guilty of criminal trespass in violation of division (A)(4) of section 2911.21 of the Revised Code and is guilty of a misdemeanor of the fourth degree. If a person knowingly violates a posted prohibition of that nature and the posted land or premises primarily was a parking lot or other parking facility, the person is not guilty of criminal trespass under section 2911.21 of the Revised Code or under any other criminal law of this state or criminal law, ordinance, or resolution of a political subdivision of this state, and instead is subject only to a civil cause of action for trespass based on the violation

(E) No person who has been issued a concealed handgun license or who is an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States and is carrying a valid military identification card and documentation of successful completion of firearms training that meets or exceeds the training requirements described in division (G)(1) of section 2923.125 of the Revised Code, who is the driver or an occupant of a motor vehicle that is stopped as a result of a traffic stop or a stop for another law enforcement purpose or is the driver or an occupant of a commercial motor vehicle that is stopped by an employee of the motor carrier enforcement unit for the purposes defined in section 5503.34 of the Revised Code, and who is transporting or has a loaded handgun in the motor vehicle or commercial motor vehicle in any manner, shall do any of the following:

  1. Fail to promptly inform any law enforcement officer who approaches the vehicle while stopped that the person has been issued a concealed handgun license or is authorized to carry a concealed handgun as an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States and that the person then possesses or has a loaded handgun in the motor vehicle;
  2. Fail to promptly inform the employee of the unit who approaches the vehicle while stopped that the person has been issued a concealed handgun license or is authorized to carry a concealed handgun as an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States and that the person then possesses or has a loaded handgun in the commercial motor vehicle;
  3. Knowingly fail to remain in the motor vehicle while stopped or knowingly fail to keep the person’s hands in plain sight at any time after any law enforcement officer begins approaching the person while stopped and before the law enforcement officer leaves, unless the failure is pursuant to and in accordance with directions given by a law enforcement officer;
  4. Knowingly have contact with the loaded handgun by touching it with the person’s hands or fingers in the motor vehicle at any time after the law enforcement officer begins approaching and before the law enforcement officer leaves, unless the person has contact with the loaded handgun pursuant to and in accordance with directions given by the law enforcement officer;

(A) No person shall knowingly discharge a firearm while in or on a motor vehicle.

(B) No person shall knowingly transport or have a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle in such a manner that the firearm is accessible to the operator or any passenger without leaving the vehicle.

(C) No person shall knowingly transport or have a firearm in a motor vehicle, unless the person may lawfully possess that firearm under applicable law of this state or the United States, the firearm is unloaded, and the firearm is carried in one of the following ways:

  1. In a closed package, box, or case;
  2. In a compartment that can be reached only by leaving the vehicle;
  3. In plain sight and secured in a rack or holder made for the purpose;
  4. If the firearm is at least twenty-four inches in overall length as measured from the muzzle to the part of the stock furthest from the muzzle and if the barrel is at least eighteen inches in length, either in plain sight with the action open or the weapon stripped, or, if the firearm is of a type on which the action will not stay open or which cannot easily be stripped, in plain sight.

(D) No person shall knowingly transport or have a loaded handgun in a motor vehicle if, at the time of that transportation or possession, any of the following applies:

  1. The person is under the influence of alcohol, a drug of abuse, or a combination of them.
  2. The person’s whole blood, blood serum or plasma, breath, or urine contains a concentration of alcohol, a listed controlled substance, or a listed metabolite of a controlled substance prohibited for persons operating a vehicle, as specified in division (A) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code, regardless of whether the person at the time of the transportation or possession as described in this division is the operator of or a passenger in the motor vehicle.

(E) No person who has been issued a license or temporary emergency license to carry a concealed handgun under section 2923.125 or 2923.1213 of the Revised Code or a license to carry a concealed handgun that was issued to the person by another state with which the attorney general has entered into a reciprocity agreement under section 109.69 of the Revised Code, who is the driver or an occupant of a motor vehicle that is stopped as a result of a traffic stop or a stop for another law enforcement purpose or is the driver or an occupant of a commercial motor vehicle that is stopped by an employee of the motor carrier enforcement unit for the purposes defined in section 5503.34 of the Revised Code, who is transporting or has a loaded handgun in the motor vehicle or commercial motor vehicle in any manner, shall do any of the following:

  1. Fail to promptly inform any law enforcement officer who approaches the vehicle while stopped that the person has been issued a license or temporary emergency license to carry a concealed handgun and that the person then possesses or has a loaded handgun in the motor vehicle;
  2. Fail to promptly inform the employee of the unit who approaches the vehicle while stopped that the person has been issued a license or temporary emergency license to carry a concealed handgun and that the person then possesses or has a loaded handgun in the commercial motor vehicle.
  3. Knowingly fail to remain in the motor vehicle while stopped or knowingly fail to keep the person’s hands in plain sight at any time after any law enforcement officer begins approaching the person while stopped and before the law enforcement officer leaves, unless the failure is pursuant to and in accordance with directions given by a law enforcement officer;
  4. Knowingly have contact with the loaded handgun by touching it with the person’s hands or fingers in the motor vehicle at any time after the law enforcement officer begins approaching and before the law enforcement officer leaves, unless the person removes, attempts to remove, grasps, holds, or has contact with the loaded handgun pursuant to and in accordance with directions given by the law enforcement officer;
  5. Knowingly disregard or fail to comply with any lawful order of any law enforcement officer given while the motor vehicle is stopped, including, but not limited to, a specific order to the person to keep the person’s hands in plain sight.

(A) The individual right to keep and bear arms, being a fundamental individual right that predates the United States Constitution and Ohio Constitution, and being a constitutionally protected right in every part of Ohio, the general assembly finds the need to provide uniform laws throughout the state regulating the ownership, possession, purchase, other acquisition, transport, storage, carrying, sale, or other transfer of firearms, their components, and their ammunition. Except as specifically provided by the United States Constitution, Ohio Constitution, state law, or federal law, a person, without further license, permission, restriction, delay, or process, may own, possess, purchase, sell, transfer, transport, store, or keep any firearm, part of a firearm, its components, and its ammunition.

(B) In addition to any other relief provided, the court shall award costs and reasonable attorney fees to any person, group, or entity that prevails in a challenge to an ordinance, rule, or regulation as being in conflict with this section.

(C) As used in this section:

(1) The possession, transporting, or carrying of firearms, their components, or their ammunition include, but are not limited to, the possession, transporting, or carrying, openly or concealed on a person’s person or concealed ready at hand, of firearms, their components, or their ammunition.

(C)(3)(a) ….. If a person knowingly violates a posted prohibition of that nature and the posted land or premises primarily was a parking lot or other parking facility, the person is not guilty of criminal trespass under section 2911.21 of the Revised Code or under any other criminal law of this state or criminal law, ordinance, or resolution of a political subdivision of this state, and instead is subject only to a civil cause of action for trespass based on the violation.

(C)(3) (b) A landlord may not prohibit or restrict a tenant who is a licensee and who on or after September 9, 2008, enters into a rental agreement with the landlord for the use of residential premises, and the tenant’s guest while the tenant is present, from lawfully carrying or possessing a handgun on those residential premises.

(A) “Capitol buildings” shall include the capitol, atrium connector and senate building

(B) “Capitol grounds” shall be defined as the property surrounding the capitol buildings bounded by High street on the west, Third street on the east, Broad street on the north and State street on the south side of the capitol and accompanying steps leading to the capitol buildings.

Ohio CCW FAQ's

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the County Sheriff in the applicants county of residence.

45 Days The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 45 days of the application being received.

You must complete your training before submitting your application and the training must have been completed within three years of filing your application.

Yes, all applicants for a concealed carry license are required to have a federal background check.

If you already have a CCW license then that will exempt you from a background check.
 

The Sheriff must be notified within 45 days that your license has been lost or stolen. They will also require a police report that states you have reported your license stolen or missing.

No, CCW licenses from other states cannot be transferred into an Ohio license. Your only option is to apply for an Ohio license.

The Ohio license will be valid to the expiration date but if you are permanently residing in another state then you will not be allowed to renew the license.

Yes, Ohio does have a castle doctrine law.

Yes, you will be exempt if you are an active member of the military or have been honorably discharged. You will need to provide documentation to confirm you are in the military or discharged and that you were trained in handling firearms.

Ohio CCW Contacts

Franklin County Sheriff

Hours


Monday – Friday    7am – 5pm

Saturday                  Closed

Sunday                    Closed

Contact


Address    410 South High St.

City            Columbus, Ohio 43215

Phone       (614) 525-5090

Email        fcsoccw@franklincountyohio.gov