Read More

The Best Gun Belt

  • Mark Woodward
  • Reviews
  • January 8, 2021
Read More

Slide #2

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #3

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #4

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.

North Carolina Gun Laws

North Carolina gun laws are considered permissive with a “Shall Issue” policy. There are no restrictions on calibers or magazine size and limited restrictions on open carry. Concealed carry permits are only issued to residents who must be 21 or older and have completed a firearms training course. Exceptions are made for military personnel who are posted in the state. A permit to purchase a firearm is required if you do not have a concealed carry permit. Applications are processed at the county level by the local sheriff’s office.

North Carolina CCW Quick Facts

TOTAL ACTIVE CCW
0
PERMITS IN NORTH CAROLINA
Gun Laws
STATE RATING
good
STATES THAT HONOR
0
A N.C. PERMIT
STATE PERMITS
0
N.C. HONORS
STATES NOT
0
HONORING PERMIT

North Carolina CCW Reciprocity

Created with Raphaël 2.0.1ALAK AZ ARCACOCTDEDCFLGAHIIDILINIAKSKYLAMEMDMAMIMNMSMOMTNENVNHNJNMNYNCNDOHOKORPARISCSDTNTXUTVTVAWAWVWIWY
Permit Honored
Permit not honored
Residential permits only
Issuing state

How Reciprocity Works in North Carolina

North Carolina will honor concealed carry permits that have been issued in any other state. There are 38 states that will honor a North Carolina permit, 6 of these states will only honor the residential permit.

North Carolina Reciprocity Agreements

North Carolina has signed reciprocity agreements with 36 other states. An official list of these states can be seen at the Attorney Generals website.

North Carolina Reciprocity State's

14.145.24 – Reciprocity Laws

North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit

Illinois Gun Policy

Shall Issue

Permit Issued To

Residents, Non-residents

COST OF

$ 0
CWW PERMIT

YEARS PERMIT

0
IS VALID

FOID Card

Firearm Owners Identification Card

All Illinois residents that possess or purchase a firearm or ammunition within the state must have in their possession a valid Firearm Owners Identification card (FOID) issued in their name.

We have a separate page giving step by step directions on how to obtain a FOID card, appealing decisions, fees, renewals and more.

Illinois Concealed Handgun Forms

Download Your Forms

Nevada: Places Off-Limits for CCW

Illinois state flag

Places Off-Limits In Illinois

  • Public or private elementary or secondary school.
  • Pre-school or child care facility
  • Any building, parking area, or portion of a building under the control of an officer of the executive or legislative branch of government
  • Circuit court, appellate court, or the Supreme Court
  • Any building or portion of a building under the control of a unit of local government
  • Adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison, or jail
  • Public or private hospital or hospital affiliate, mental health facility, or nursing home
  • Public bus, train, or form of transportation paid for with public funds
  • Establishment that serves alcohol on its premises, if more than 50% of the establishment’s gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol
  • Any public gathering or special event conducted on property open to the public
  • Any building or real property that has been issued a Special Event Retailer’s license
  • Public playground
  • Public park, athletic area, or athletic facility
  • Property under the control of the Cook County Forest Preserve District
  • Any building, classroom, laboratory, medical clinic, hospital, artistic venue, athletic venue, entertainment venue, officially recognized university-related organization property, including parking areas, sidewalks, and common areas under the control of a public or private community college, or university
  • Gaming facility licensed under the Riverboat Gambling Act or the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975, including an inter-track wagering location
  • Any stadium, arena, or the real property or parking area under the control of a stadium, arena, or any collegiate or professional sporting event
  • Public library
  • Airport
  • Amusement park
  • Zoo or museum
  • Any street, driveway, parking area, property, building, or facility, owned, leased, controlled, or used by a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Places Allowed In Illinois

  • State parks – see details
  • State and national forests
  • Vehicle – see details
  • All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits

The Illinois Supreme Court ruled in February 2018 that the ban on carry near a public park is unconstitutional.

430 ILCS 66/65 – Off limits

History Of Illinois Gun Laws

Antique Pistol

Learn The History of Illinois Gun Laws

Illinois Gun Sales & Preemption

Gun Sales

Illinois has a waiting period after purchasing a firearm before the purchaser can take possession of the weapon. The waiting period is 72 hours for a handgun and 24 hours for a shotgun or rifle. The purchaser must also have a FOID card issued by the State Police to purchase any firearm or ammunition.

Sales made by a Federal Firearms License holder require the seller to verify the FOID card via an automated dial up system (Firearm Transfer Inquiry Program) run by the state police. The same checks will also need to be done for any sales at a gun show.

Private Gun Sales

If a firearm is being sold privately then by law the seller must verify the purchasers FOID card and also keep a record of any sale for a period of 10 years. To verify the purchasers FOID card the seller must contact the state police and receive a transfer approval number via a phone call or web site.

Preemption

There is state preemption for all gun laws in Illinois. All prior restrictions made by local authorities relating to handguns are now rescinded. Local authorities cannot pass any new laws for handguns or long guns. However, laws relating to long guns that were in effect before the new gun laws came into effect in 2013 are still legally enforced.

430 ILCS 66 Section 90

Illinois Concealed Carry Laws

Illinois state capitol building

Illinois Gun Laws To Know

“Subject only to the police power, the right of the individual citizen to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed.”
(Art. I, 22)

gun-ban-small
Illinois Off-Limit Statutes

Other Illinois CCW Statutes

For information on other states handgun laws please go back to the state laws page and select the state you are interested in.

Illinois CCW FAQ's

Illinois CCW Contact

Illinois State Police

Hours


Monday – Friday    8am – 5pm

Saturday                  Closed

Sunday                    Closed

Contact


Address    801 South 7th Street

City            Springfield, Il62703

Phone        (217) 782-7980