Read More

The Best Gun Belt

  • Mark Woodward
  • Reviews
  • January 8, 2021
Read More

Slide #2

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #3

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #4

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.

NEW HAMPSHIRE GUN LAWS

New Hampshire CCW Quick Facts

Link

New Hampshire CCW Quick Facts

TOTAL ACTIVE CCW
0
IN NEW HAMPSHIRE
Gun Laws
STATE RATING
Fair
STATES THAT HONOR
0
A NEW HAMPSHIRE PERMIT
STATE PERMITS
0
NEW HAMPSHIRE HONORS
COST OFF
$ 0
A CCW LICENSE

New Hampshire Reciprocity Map

Created with Raphaël 2.0.1ALAK AZ ARCACOCTDEDCFLGAHIIDILINIAKSKYLAMEMDMAMIMNMSMOMTNENVNHNJNMNYNCNDOHOKORPARISCSDTNTXUTVTVAWAWVWIWY
Permit Honored
Permit not honored
Residential permits only
Issuing state

Permit Information

New Hampshire gun laws operate on an Unrestricted” and “Shall Issue” policy, the later being used for reciprocity. There are no laws restricting the age at which a person can carry firearms. A licence is not required to open or conceal carry. For those that require a permit there are separate forms for residents and non-residents. Residents apply to the county sheriff’s office and non-residents to the State Department of Justice.

New Hampshire Pistol License

New Hampshire Reciprocity List

29
STATES
RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

NON-RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

26
STATES
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

You must be a resident of the state they honor for your permit to be valid in New Hampshire

21
STATES
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Washington, Washington D.C. Wisconsin

Permitless Carry

Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia have “Permitless Carry.” If you can legally possess a firearm then you may carry it concealed in those states without a Permit/License.

New Hampshire Permit Forms

Download Your Forms

New Hampshire Places Off-Limits

Places Off-Limits

Title 12 § 159:19 Courtroom Security

Places you can carry

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state except those in the Off-Limits section

New Hampshire Gun Laws

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by The Department of Public Safety through the local Police/Sheriff for residents and New Hampshire State Police for non-residents.

14 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 14 days of the application being received.

NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
There is nothing in New Hampshire gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. We always recommend that you carry photo ID, at all times during which you are in actual possession of a concealed handgun. Although that is not a legal requirement in New Hampshire.

NO
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in New Hampshire gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

YES – Without a License.
There are no restrictions on vehicle carry. A lot of info on the web regarding vehicle carry pre-dates the new 2017 laws. Below is the latest law that clearly says you can carry in a vehicle.

159:6 License to Carry.
III. The availability of a license to carry a loaded pistol or revolver under this section or under any other provision of law shall not be construed to impose a prohibition on the unlicensed transport or carry of a firearm in a vehicle, or on or about one’s person, whether openly or concealed, loaded or unloaded, by a resident, nonresident, or alien if that individual is not otherwise prohibited by statute from possessing a firearm in the state of New Hampshire.

YES – Without a Permit/License
Open or concealed carry without a permit/license in New Hampshire is legal.

YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.

YES
You are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas

New Hampshire Contacts

NEW HAMPSHIRE STATE POLICE New Permits and Licensing Unit

Hours


Monday – Friday    8:15am – 4pm

Saturday                  Closed

Sunday                    Closed

Contact


Address   33 Hazen Drive

City           Concord, NH 03305

Phone      (603) 223-3873

Email        PermitsandLicensing@dos.nh.gov