Read More

The Best Gun Belt

  • Mark Woodward
  • Reviews
  • January 8, 2021
Read More

Slide #2

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #3

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #4

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
MICHIGAN GUN LAWS

All The Fact And Info

Want to know more about Michigan gun laws?
Then you are in the right place. If you are looking for some up to date information we have it here.
Keep reading…

Michigan gun laws operate on a “Shall Issue” policy at the local level. To purchase handguns privately a purchase permit, background checks and firearm registration is required. Only residents are allowed to purchase handguns with non-residents being allowed to purchase long guns. Concealed carry permits require a firearms training course that has been state approved. There are exemptions for non-residents who are in the military, have a Michigan driver’s license or are registered to vote in Michigan.

Michigan CCW Quick Facts

TOTAL ACTIVE CCW
0
PERMIT'S IN MICHIGAN
Gun Laws
STATE RATING
Average
STATES THAT HONOR
0
A MICHIGAN PERMIT
STATE PERMITS
0
MICHIGAN HONORS
STATES NOT
0
HONORING PERMIT

Michigan CCW Reciprocity

Created with Raphaël 2.0.1ALAK AZ ARCACOCTDEDCFLGAHIIDILINIAKSKYLAMEMDMAMIMNMSMOMTNENVNHNJNMNYNCNDOHOKORPARISCSDTNTXUTVTVAWAWVWIWY
Permit Honored
Permit not honored
Issuing state

How Reciprocity Works in Michigan

All CCW permits from other states are honored by Michigan with the exception of Non-resident permits. Michigan will only honor permits issued to residents of the state the permit was issued in. And the person cannot remain in Michigan for longer than 180 days.

Michigan Reciprocity State's

39
STATES
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
50
STATES
Residential Permits Only Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming Districts & Territories District of Columbia, New York City, Puerto Rico,
11
STATES
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island.

Pointers: Michigan Gun Laws

Michigan Handgun License

Michigan Gun Policy

Shall Issue

Permit Issued To

Residents

CPL LICENSE OVERVIEW

A concealed carry license is issued to persons who meet certain requirements. Some of these requirements are that the person has not had any felonies or certain misdemeanors within the last 3 or 8 years with the time being related to the type of charge. An approved course in firearms training is also required to be taken. Applicants will also need to have been a resident of Michigan for at least 6 months before making the application. The Law
28.425 – CPL licenses

NON-RESIDENT LICENSES

Michigan does not issue Non-Resident concealed carry licenses and they will not honor any non-resident licences from other states. There is one exception and that is if you move from another state to Michigan as a permanent resident. If you had a CCW license in another state then Michigan will accept that and waive the six month residency requirement. The Law
28.425b – Non-resident licenses

HANDGUN TRAINING

All applicants for a Michigan concealed carry permit are required to take a firearms safety course that has been approved by the state.

COST OF

0
CWW PERMIT

YEARS PERMIT

0
IS VALID

Michigan CCW Handgun Forms

Download Your Forms

Michigan: Places Off-Limits for CCW

Michigan state flag

Places Off-Limits in Michigan

  • Schools or school property but may carry while in a vehicle on school property while dropping off or picking up if a parent or legal guardian
  • Public or private day care center, public or private child caring agency, or public or private child placing agency
  • Courtroom, office, or other space used for official court business
  • Sports arena or stadium
  • A tavern where the primary source of income is the sale of alcoholic liquor by the glass consumed on the premises
  • Any property or facility owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple, or other place of worship
  • An entertainment facility that the individual knows or should know has a seating capacity of 2,500 or more
  • A hospital
  • A dormitory or classroom of a community college, college, or university
  • A Casino
  • Michigan State University, University of Michigan, Wayne State University
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 
 

Places Allowed in Michigan

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits

Michigan Concealed Carry Laws

Michigan state capitol building

Michigan Gun Laws To Know

YES/NO – WITHOUT A PERMIT

If you do not have a CPL license then you cannot carry a loadedfirearm in any vehicle. Unless the firearm is unloaded and is one or more of the following;

  • Taken down.
  • Enclosed in a case.
  • Carried in the trunk of the vehicle.
  • Inaccessible from the interior of the vehicle.

If you have a CPL license from Michigan then you can carry a loaded and concealed firearm in a vehicle.

The Law 750.227d – Transporting firearm

YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT

Carrying a handgun without a CPL license in Michigan is legal with a few restrictions.

Without a CPL License

  • You cannot open carry at a business or grocery store that sell’s alcohol.
  • Residents of Michigan can open carry a handgun without a CPL license if the gun is registered to their name.
  • Some areas listed as off limits may not apply to persons who open carry.
  • Non-residents who do not have a CCW license from their home state are not allowed to conceal or open carry.
  • You cannot carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle without a CPL license.
  • A person must be at least 18 years old to open carry.
YES

In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol “Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol. The Law
28.425o

YES

It is legal to carry in the following areas;

  • State Parks:       YES – 324.504(6)
  • State/National Forests:     YES – 324.504(6)
  • State Wildlife Management Areas:     YES – 324.504(6)
  • Road Side Rest Areas:     YES

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Attorney General. Applications are submitted to the sheriff of the county you reside in.

NO
Michigan does not have constitutional carry.
YES – MUST INFORM OFFICER

If you are licensed to carry a concealed handgun and are stopped by the police then Michigan gun laws require you to immediately disclose that you are carrying a concealed weapon on you or in the vehicle. You must carry your permit/license at all times that you are carrying a concealed pistol, as well as your Driver’s License or state-issued ID card. The Law
28.425f (3)

NO

“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Michigan gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits. GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

Michigan Off-Limit Statutes

Premises on which carrying concealed weapon or portable device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology prohibited; “premises” defined; exceptions to subsections (1) and (2); violation; penalties. Sec. 5o.

(1) Subject to subsection (5), an individual licensed under this act to carry a concealed pistol, or who is exempt from licensure under section 12a(h), shall not carry a concealed pistol on the premises of any of the following:

  • (a) A school or school property except that a parent or legal guardian of a student of the school is not precluded from carrying a concealed pistol while in a vehicle on school property, if he or she is dropping the student off at the school or picking up the student from the school. As used in this section, “school” and “school property” mean those terms as defined in section 237a of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.237a.
  • (b) A public or private child care center or day care center, public or private child caring institution, or public or private child placing agency.
  • (c) A sports arena or stadium.
  • (d) A bar or tavern licensed under the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1101 to 436.2303, where the primary source of income of the business is the sale of alcoholic liquor by the glass and consumed on the premises. This subdivision does not apply to an owner or employee of the business. The Michigan liquor control commission shall develop and make available to holders of licenses under the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1101 to 436.2303, an appropriate sign stating that “This establishment prohibits patrons from carrying concealed weapons”. The owner or operator of an establishment licensed under the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, MCL 436.1101 to 436.2303, may post the sign developed under this subdivision.
  • (e) Any property or facility owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple, or other place of worship, unless the presiding official or officials of the church, synagogue, mosque, temple, or other place of worship permit the carrying of concealed pistol on that property or facility.
  • (f) An entertainment facility with a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals that the individual knows or should know has a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals or that has a sign above each public entrance stating in letters not less than 1-inch high a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals.
  • (g) A hospital.
  • (h) A dormitory or classroom of a community college, college, or university.

(2) Subject to subsection (5), an individual shall not carry a portable device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology on any of the premises described in subsection (1).

(3) An individual licensed under this act to carry a concealed pistol, or who is exempt from licensure under section 12a(h), shall not carry a concealed pistol in violation of R 432.1212 of the Michigan Administrative Code promulgated under the Michigan gaming control and revenue act, 1996 IL 1, MCL 432.201 to 432.226.

(4) As used in subsection (1), “premises” does not include parking areas of the places identified under subsection (1)

Weapons in Casino.

(1) An individual may not carry a firearm or other weapon in a casino, except for the following entities:

  • (a) State, county, city, township, or village law enforcement officers, as defined in section 2(e) of Act No. 203 of the Public Acts of 1965, as amended, being § 28.601 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws.
  • (b) Federal law enforcement officers, as defined in 5 U.S.C. § 8331.
  • (c) Armored car personnel picking up or delivering currency at secured areas.

(2) Law enforcement officers conducting official duties within a casino shall, to the extent practicable, advise the Michigan state police gaming section of their presence.

(3) Private casino security personnel may carry handcuffs while on duty in a casino.

Implied consent to submit to chemical analysis; certificate holder under influence of alcoholic liquor or controlled substance; violation; penalty; exception; collection and testing of breath, blood, and urine specimens; refusal to take chemical test; report of violation to commission.

(3) This section does not prohibit an individual certified under this act to carry a concealed firearm who has any bodily alcohol content from transporting that firearm in the locked trunk of his or her motor vehicle or another motor vehicle in which he or she is a passenger or, if the vehicle does not have a trunk, from transporting that firearm unloaded in a locked compartment or container that is separated from the ammunition for that firearm or on a vessel if the firearm is transported unloaded in a locked compartment or container that is separated from the ammunition for that firearm. _______________________

Other Michigan CCW Statutes

License to Purchase, Carry, Possess, or Transport Pistol; Issuance; Qualifications; Applications; Sale of Pistol; Exemptions; Nonresidents; Basic Pistol Safety Brochure; Forging Application; Implementation During Business Hours.

(9) An individual who is not a resident of this state is not required to obtain a license under this section if all of the following conditions apply:

  • (a) The individual is licensed in his or her state of residence to purchase, carry, or transport a pistol.
  • (b) The individual is in possession of the license described in subdivision (a).
  • (c) The individual is the owner of the pistol he or she possesses, carries, or transports.
  • (d) The individual possesses the pistol for a lawful purpose.
  • (e) The individual is in this state for a period of 180 days or less and does not intend to establish residency in this state.

To obtain a license to carry a concealed pistol, an individual shall apply to the county clerk in the county in which the individual resides. Each applicant shall pay an application and licensing fee for Initial or Renewal of $115.00. County clerks shall provide concealed pistol application kits during normal business hours free of charge to individuals who wish to apply for licenses to carry concealed pistols. Each kit shall only contain all of the following:

  •  A concealed pistol license application form provided by the director of the department of state police.
  •  The fingerprint cards under section 5b(10), if required.  Written information regarding the procedures involved in obtaining a license to carry a concealed pistol.
  • Written information identifying entities that offer the training required under section 5b(7)(c), if maintained by the county clerk.

A county clerk shall not deny an individual the right to receive a concealed pistol application kit under this section.

(7)(b) If the individual holds a valid concealed pistol license issued by another state at the time the applicant’s residency in this state is established, the county clerk shall waive the 6-month residency requirement and the applicant may apply for a concealed pistol license at the time the applicant’s residency in this state is established. For the purposes of this section, a person is considered a legal resident of this state if any of the following apply:

  • The individual has a valid, lawfully obtained driver license issued under the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.1 to 257.923, or official state personal identification card issued under 1972 PA 222, MCL 28.291 to 28.300.
  • The individual is lawfully registered to vote in this state.
  • The individual is on active duty status with the United States armed forces and is stationed outside of this state, but the individual’s home of record is in this state.  The individual is on active duty status with the United States Armed Forces and is permanently stationed in this state, but the person’s home of record is in another state.

(4) A county clerk shall issue an emergency license to carry a concealed pistol to an individual if the individual has obtained a personal protection order issued under section 2950 or 2950a of the revised judicature act of 1961, 1961 PA 236, MCL 600.2950 and 600.2950a, or to that individual if a county sheriff determines that there is clear and convincing evidence to believe the safety of the individual or the safety of a member of the individual’s family or household is endangered by the individual’s inability to immediately obtain a license to carry a concealed pistol. Clear and convincing evidence includes, but is not limited to, an application for a personal protection order, police reports and other law enforcement records, or written, audio, or visual evidence of threats to the individual or member of the individual’s family or household. A pistol training or safety program described in section 5b(7)(c) meets the requirements for knowledge or training in the safe use and handling of a pistol only if the training was provided within 5 years preceding the date of application and consisted of not less than 8 hours of instruction and all of the conditions are met.

(1) A license to carry a concealed pistol, including a renewal license, is valid until the applicant’s date of birth that falls not less than 4 years or more than 5 years after the license is issued or renewed, as applicable.

(1) The State has 45 days to issue a permit.

(7) (b) …If the applicant holds a valid concealed pistol license issued by another state at the time the applicant’s residency in this state is established, the county clerk shall waive the 6-month residency requirement and the applicant may apply for a concealed pistol license at the time the applicant’s residency in this state is established. For the purposes of this section, An Individual is considered a legal resident of this state if any of the following apply:

  • (i) The Individual has a valid, lawfully obtained driver license issued under the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.1 to 257.923, or official state personal identification card issued under 1972 PA 222, MCL 28.291 to 28.300.
  • (ii) The Individual is lawfully registered to vote in this state.
  • (iii) The Individual is on active duty status with the United States armed forces and is stationed outside of this state, but the person’s home of record is in this state.
  • (iv) The Individual is on active duty status with the United States armed forces and is permanently stationed in this state, but the person’s home of record is in another state.

(3) An individual licensed under this act to carry a concealed pistol and who is carrying a concealed pistol or a portable device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology and who is stopped by a peace officer shall immediately disclose to the peace officer that he or she is carrying a pistol or a portable device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology concealed upon his or her person or in his or her vehicle.

Transporting or Possessing Firearm in or Upon Motor Vehicle or Self-Propelled Vehicle Designed for Land Travel; Conditions; Violation as Misdemeanor; Penalty.

(1) Except as otherwise permitted by law, a person shall not transport or possess in or upon a motor vehicle or any self-propelled vehicle designed for land travel either of the following:

(a) A firearm, other than a pistol, unless the firearm is unloaded and is 1 or more of the following:

  • (i) Taken down.
  • (ii) Enclosed in a case.
  • (iii) Carried in the trunk of the vehicle.
  • (iv) Inaccessible from the interior of the vehicle.

(2) A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or a fine of not more than $100.00, or both.

Exceptions to MCL 750.227(2); Definitions.

(d) To a person while transporting a pistol for a lawful purpose that is licensed by the owner or occupant of the motor vehicle in compliance with section 2 of 1927 PA 372, MCL 28.422, and the pistol is unloaded in a closed case designed for the storage of firearms in the trunk of the vehicle.

(e) To a person while transporting a pistol for a lawful purpose that is licensed by the owner or occupant of the motor vehicle in compliance with section 2 of 1927 PA 372, MCL 28.422, and the pistol is unloaded in a closed case designed for the storage of firearms in a vehicle that does not have a trunk and is not readily accessible to the occupants of the vehicle.

Regulation of Pistols or Other Firearms.

Sec. 2. A local unit of government shall not impose special taxation on, enact or enforce any ordinance or regulation pertaining to, or regulate in any other manner the ownership, registration, purchase, sale, transfer, transportation, or possession of pistols, other firearms, or pneumatic guns, ammunition for pistols or other firearms, or components of pistols or other firearms, except as otherwise provided by federal law or a law of this state.

Emergency Powers of Governor (Excerpt)

Act 302 of 1945

AN ACT authorizing the governor to proclaim a state of emergency, and to prescribe the powers and duties of the governor with respect thereto; and to prescribe penalties.

History: 1945, Act 302, Imd. Eff. May 25, 1945

The People of the State of Michigan enact:

10.31 Proclamation of state of emergency; promulgation of orders, rules, and regulations; seizure of firearms, ammunition, or other weapons.

Sec. 1. (1) During times of great public crisis, disaster, rioting, catastrophe, or similar public emergency within the state, or reasonable apprehension of immediate danger of a public emergency of that kind, when public safety is imperiled, either upon application of the mayor of a city, sheriff of a county, or the commissioner of the Michigan state police or upon his or her own volition, the governor may proclaim a state of emergency and designate the area involved. After making the proclamation or declaration, the governor may promulgate reasonable orders, rules, and regulations as he or she considers necessary to protect life and property or to bring the emergency situation within the affected area under control. Those orders, rules, and regulations may include, but are not limited to, providing for the control of traffic, including public and private transportation, within the area or any section of the area; designation of specific zones within the area in which occupancy and use of buildings and ingress and egress of persons and vehicles may be prohibited or regulated; control of places of amusement and assembly and of persons on public streets and thoroughfares; establishment of a curfew; control of the sale, transportation, and use of alcoholic beverages and liquors; and control of the storage, use, and transportation of explosives or inflammable materials or liquids deemed to be dangerous to public safety.

(2) The orders, rules, and regulations promulgated under subsection (1) are effective from the date and in the manner prescribed in the orders, rules, and regulations and shall be made public as provided in the orders, rules, and regulations. The orders, rules, and regulations may be amended, modified, or rescinded, in the manner in which they were promulgated, from time to time by the governor during the pendency of the emergency, but shall cease to be in effect upon declaration by the governor that the emergency no longer exists.

(3) Subsection (1) does not authorize the seizure, taking, or confiscation of lawfully possessed firearms, ammunition, or other weapons. History: 1945, Act 302, Imd. Eff. May 25, 1945;¾CL 1948, 10.31;¾Am. 2006, Act 546, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2006.

Other Michigan Gun Laws

Michigan CCW FAQ's

45 Days Under Michigan law new applications for a CPL license must be processed with 45 days.

Yes, you are not limited to how many guns you can carry.

You cannot have a reading higher than BAC .02 alcohol content in your blood.

CPL licenses are issued by the county clerk in the applicants county of residence.
 

No, the law does not allow for another states CCW permit to be transferred to Michigan.

Yes, Michigan uses the castle doctrine law with no duty to retreat if you are in your own house.

Yes, all handgun sales need to be registered to the local law enforcement office. There is no such requirement with long guns.

For information on other states handgun laws please go back to the state laws page and select the state you are interested in.

Michigan CCW Contact

Michigan State Police Headquarters

Hours


Monday – Friday    9am – 5pm

Saturday                  Closed

Sunday                    Closed

Contact


Address    7150 Harris Drive

City            Dimondale, Michigan 48821

Phone       (517) 284-3700