Read More

The Best Gun Belt

  • Mark Woodward
  • Reviews
  • January 8, 2021
Read More

Slide #2

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #3

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #4

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.

KANSAS GUN LAWS

KANSAS CCW QUICK FACTS

Permit Information

Kansas gun ws operate on an “Unrestricted” and “Shall Issue” policy, the later being used for reciprocity. Anyone who is 21 or older and legally allowed to possess a firearm can carry it concealed without a permit. If a permit is required for out-of-state travel an application can be filed with the local sheriff. Applicants must be at least 21 years old and a resident in the county they file in. The application is executed under oath at the local sheriff’s office so must be filled out in front of the sheriff. Permits are not available for non-residents.

STATES THAT

0
HONOR A KANSAS PERMIT

STATE PERMITS

0
KANSAS HONORS

Kansas Reciprocity Map

Created with Raphaël 2.0.1ALAK AZ ARCACOCTDEDCFLGAHIIDILINIAKSKYLAMEMDMAMIMNMSMOMTNENVNHNJNMNYNCNDOHOKORPARISCSDTNTXUTVTVAWAWVWIWY
Permit Honored
Permit not honored
Residential permits only
Issuing state

RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

NON-RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit less Carry

Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia have “Permitless Carry.” If you can legally possess a firearm then you may carry it concealed in those states without a Permit/License.

Kansas CCW Permit

Kansas is an “Unrestricted” & “shall issue” state.
Shall Issue is used for reciprocty.
Residents only.
Permit not required.
The permit is valid for 4 years.

Where You Cannot Carry

  • K-12 Schools both Public and Private Buildings if posted “No Firearms”
  • Governors residence
  • Any public building with a posted sign saying “No Firearms”
  • Secure areas of any buildings for a correctional facility, jail facility or a law enforcement agency
  • State courthouses if posted
  • State racetracks if posted
  • Under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

Where You Can Carry

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Public grounds and parking lots/garages
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed below 

Details on Kansas Gun Laws

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Attorney General. Applications are submitted to the sheriff of the county you reside in.

90 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 90 days of the application being received.

NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
There is nothing in Kansas gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. Guns To Carry always recommends that you carry your permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.

NO
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Kansas gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned in the law as being off limits.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

YES – Without a Permit/License
Anyone who is 21 years of age who can legally possess a handgun can carry it concealed or openly in Kansas without any type of permit/license. The minimum age for possessing and transporting a handgun unloaded and secured in a vehicle without any type of permit/license to carry firearms is 18.

YES – Without a Permit/License
Open carry is legal in Kansas with no permit if you are at least 18 years old and allowed to possess a firearm.

YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.

YES
You are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas

Kansas Contacts

Kansas Attorney General Concealed Carry Licensing Unit

Hours


Monday – Friday    9am – 5pm

Saturday                  Closed

Sunday                    Closed

Contact


Address    120 SW 10th Ave

City            Topeka, KS 66612-1597

Phone       (785) 291-3765