Read More

The Best Gun Belt

  • Mark Woodward
  • Reviews
  • January 8, 2021
Read More

Slide #2

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #3

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.
Read More

Slide #4

I am item content. Click edit button to change this text.

IDAHO GUN LAWS

Idaho Weapons License

QUICK FACTS
Permit Information

Idaho gun laws allow any person who is at least 18 years old to carry a concealed firearm outside of cities without a permit. To carry inside a city without a permit you must be at least 21 years of age. An enhanced concealed carry permit is available for those that wish to travel out-of-state. Some reciprocity states will only accept the enhanced version of Idaho’s permit. Applications for residents are made at their local county sheriff’s office. Non-residents can only apply at the Canyon county or Ada county sheriff’s office. Idaho is a “Shall Issue” state for concealed carry. Open carry is legal and common in Idaho, must be 18 or older.

STATES THAT

0
HONOR AN IDAHO PERMIT

STATE PERMITS

0
IDAHO HONORS

Idaho Reciprocity Map

Created with Raphaël 2.0.1ALAK AZ ARCACOCTDEDCFLGAHIIDILINIAKSKYLAMEMDMAMIMNMSMOMTNENVNHNJNMNYNCNDOHOKORPARISCSDTNTXUTVTVAWAWVWIWY

Permit Honored

Permit not honored

Residential permit only

ID enhanced permit only

Issuing state

Idaho CCW Permit Forms

Idaho Places Off-Limits

Places Off-Limits

  • Public or private school
  • State courthouse
  • Juvenile detention facility
  • Adult correctional facility
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law. 

18-3302C Prohibited Conduct
18-3302D Possessing Weapons or Firearms on School Property

Places Where You Can Carry

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed above 

Idaho Gun Laws

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the sheriff in your county of residence.

90 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 90 days of the application being received.

NO
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Idaho gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
Idaho gun laws do not say you have to inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm or carry a permit/license. GunsToCarry recommends that you always carry your permit/license whenever a firearm is on your person.

YES – Without a Permit/License
Any person aged 18 or over is allowed to carry a concealed firearm outside of any city. Any person aged 21 or over can carry within a city without a permit. Without a permit, any firearm must be located in plain view or disassembled or unloaded. If concealed in the vehicle it must be unloaded.
With a permit, you may carry a loaded firearm concealed inside your vehicle.

YES – Without a Permit/License
Idaho has no restrictions on open carry and it is common in this state. The minimum age for open carry is 18 years old.

YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.

YES
You are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas

Idaho Contacts

ADA COUNTY SHERIFF

Hours



Monday – Friday8am – 5pm

SaturdayClosed

SundayClosed

Contact



Address7200 Barrister Dr.

CityIdaho City, ID 83631

Phone(208) 577-3112